PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7


Wozzer
Jan 8, 2010, 08:58 AM
Hello all,

Couldn't find a "General Software" section so I presume its alright posting in here....

I've recently purchased a laptop that is eligible for a windows 7 upgrade. However - whilst going through the manufacturers site, it directed me to another website. Okay - fair enough, but then firefox alerted me that the site might not be trust worthy as it hasnt got a security certificate.

I clicked proceed knowing the risks and started filling out some of the details, but they seem to want to charge me £16 for the delivery....WTF. £16 to deliver a CD, am I missing something - or is this a dodgy site?

Many thanks,

Wasley

Solaris17
Jan 8, 2010, 11:29 AM
Hello all,

Couldn't find a "General Software" section so I presume its alright posting in here....

I've recently purchased a laptop that is eligible for a windows 7 upgrade. However - whilst going through the manufacturers site, it directed me to another website. Okay - fair enough, but then firefox alerted me that the site might not be trust worthy as it hasnt got a security certificate.

I clicked proceed knowing the risks and started filling out some of the details, but they seem to want to charge me £16 for the delivery....WTF. £16 to deliver a CD, am I missing something - or is this a dodgy site?

Many thanks,

Wasley

what was the site?

what was the manufacturer?

what are the links?

can you give them to us?

is the date on your pc set right?

we cant answer any of your questions correctly unless you give us most of the above.

kyle2020
Jan 8, 2010, 11:41 AM
Would it not be best double checking with the sellers of your laptop?

Wozzer
Jan 8, 2010, 04:29 PM
what was the site?
I was directed from Laptopsdirect.co.uk to this; http://event.asus.com/2009/windows7/

what was the manufacturer?
Asus

Is the date on your pc set right?
It was one day out, would this actually make a difference?

Hope that gives you a bit more information. Don't really know what else I can add. :wtf:

DirectorC
Jan 8, 2010, 04:35 PM
Is the date on your pc set right?
It was one day out, would this actually make a difference?

Yes one day out could make a difference to a security certificate. Try again.

Also, the General Software subsection is in the Software section, right under the Hardware section. It was right in your face dummy :nutkick:

Wozzer
Jan 8, 2010, 04:37 PM
Also, the General Software subsection is in the Software section, right under the Hardware section. It was right in your face dummy :nutkick:

I hate to sound thick, but I still can't see it....:wtf:

jjFarking
Jan 8, 2010, 04:39 PM
*By click the "Reigster here for Upgrade" link, you'll be leaving the ASUS site and entering one operated by Mentor Media, a third-party web site. Windows® 7 upgrade order transaction and fulfillment are being handled by Mentor Media, Microsofts authorized replicator for fulfilling Windows® 7 upgrades. ASUS is not responsible for the third-party sites content, accuracy or functionality.

**Shipping and handling fees may apply.
It does say you may be charged :)

Love the typo (Reigster).
Could be a new word :p

DirectorC
Jan 8, 2010, 04:40 PM
I hate to sound thick, but I still can't see it....:wtf:

Whaaat. HAVE you been to the index (http://forums.techpowerup.com/index.php)?

Wozzer
Jan 8, 2010, 04:41 PM
Whaaat. HAVE you been to the index (http://forums.techpowerup.com/index.php)?

Yes....

DirectorC
Jan 8, 2010, 04:41 PM
:shadedshu Scroll down!

Wozzer
Jan 8, 2010, 04:41 PM
Hee hee - I thought you meant a subsection in the hard-ware. DOH. :slap:

Fourstaff
Jan 8, 2010, 04:55 PM
Did you buy the ASUS laptop on offer through ebuyer? I went ahead and posted my mail address anyway, I had nothing to lose. They cancelled the payment after I gave them my code though, so I am going to have it free.

Wozzer
Jan 8, 2010, 05:01 PM
Nope - Bought it off Laptopsdirect.co.uk

They were the cheapest about at the time. Looking back on the site today, i noticed that they had now run outta stock and they'd bumped the price up by £20...