• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Small Office Server - where do I begin?

K

kyle2020

Hey guys, I need some in depth advice here.

A few nights ago i was contacted by a previous customer asking for some more business. Heres what he asked:

A new office block is being built in his business' main block. Its a small office, basically to be used for paperwork, etc. He wants:

1. 3 / 5 Computers to be built, each suitable for word processing, internet use, etc. This is the easy part - Im thinking some low profile mATX rigs with E1200's, 2GB of cheap RAM running onboard VGA.

2. A file / internet server. Now this is the hard part - I have never done this level of networking before, the most I have done is setting myself and my parents up on our wireless at home, thats not too hard to be honest. For one, I know that the specs of a server dont really need to be amazing - some cheap pentium single core stuff will suffice, but if i can get a bulk deal on E1200's or similar, ill use one of those.

My main problem is setting it up for file use (ill drop a 1TB HDD in it, but how the hell do I get each PC to connect to it?) and for internet use. Im guessing ill have to have each PC connect to this via a Hub / Router, and the server PC then connected to the internet (just to reiterate, this is a guess) but to be honest, im clueless.

Am I in too deep with this one, I mean building the PC's / getting them set up for office use is easy, for the 3/5 computers it will take roughly 2 days from building to fully functioning, but its the server issue im scared of.

Please, any advice on small office based servers for file use / internet use would be a massive help, but remember, your talking to a complete noob in this area, so be as in depth as possible!

Cookies shal be given :D

ktr