• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TV Advice: Plasma, LCD or LED?

System Name HAL9000
Processor i5 3750k @ stock
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Corsair H80i
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 Vapor-X GHz 3GB
Storage Samsung Evo 850 256GB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411T @ 144Hz
Case anidees AI6BW
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Software W10 64bit
So, I've recently moved to London and I haven't got a TV, but I'm no expert in this area apart that I won't buy a dodgy brand TV (I'll only buy mainstream brands such as LG, Sony, Samsung, Phillips etc because they have a lot of experience and they usually have the best gear available). So, I'm in the market of a new TV that would vary from 40-50" (42/44" is the most likely size I'll get unless I get a super bargain). Now, I'm rather confused as to which is better - LCD, Plasma or LED? Obviously there are exceptions, but in general. Also, they're all +/- around the same price. Furthermore as far as I'm aware Plasma is the oldest, LCD is middle aged (if you say that Plasma is grandad, LCD is adult and LED is teenager) and LED is the newest and has only hit the market in recent couple years. I'm not talking about the original technology, but this technology being widespread in TV's (so, Plasma, LCD and LED).

I'm sure people won't agree but if one of these is particularly bad a lot then please mention that.

Processor i5-7600k
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Pro4
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO w/ AC MX-4
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 2400 Corsair LPX Vengeance 15-15-15-36
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr 1070ti
Storage 240GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) 23' Dell AW2310
Case Corsair 550D
Power Supply Seasonic SS-760XP2 Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Plasmas suck up a lot of energy. Would definitely contribute to an increase in the electricity bill.

LCD TVs are good from what I know.