• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Processor W3520 Xeon
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Cool it Vantage
Memory 6gb Dominators
Video Card(s) GTX 460
Storage 60Gb Vertex II 500Gb storage
Display(s) LG 42LH40 42" 1080P
Case 932 HAF
Audio Device(s) Voices in my head
Power Supply Raidmax730/
Software Win7Pro64
Benchmark Scores Pretty High one's. but it's not a contest/ I just read them for the articles.
In my opinion, rooting is done so you have full control over what is on your phone. Remove crap you don't use and stuff :)

The term rooting is new to me... I am just starting to learn about the droids... I just loaded some songs and pics on my phone and did notice a slow down. I also put a movie on it and it won't play for some reason? I have the Milestone X with the latest updates. Is there a basic outline of what you can do to the phone and the effects of the changes? My concern is that I will brick the phone which is one day old and be f*cked.

Edit: also what are some of the essential apps that you guys can't live without and please explain what they do if it isn't obvious.

System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
The term rooting is new to me... I am just starting to learn about the droids... I just loaded some songs and pics on my phone and did notice a slow down. I also put a movie on it and it won't play for some reason? I have the Milestone X with the latest updates. Is there a basic outline of what you can do to the phone and the effects of the changes? My concern is that I will brick the phone which is one day old and be f*cked.