• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

So you want PWM control of your new CPU fan?

pvillegeek

Better late than never

It looks like I'm a little late to this party, but seeing your schematic made be cringe!

I guess I should start off by mentioning that I am an electrical engineer, so I know what I'm talking about.

What's right:
On the positive side, you did keep ground as ground, and you chopped the 12v line (I've seen several attempts messing this up). If you chop the ground wire it will mess up the tach output. Other than that I'm surprised this circuit works at all.

What's wrong:
The PWM pin on the motherboard is designed to sink up to 5.25v, in your circuit it gets up to 12v! (though due to the resisters it can't draw much current, so probably won't damage anything)

The voltage to the base of the transistor is switching between 12v (on) to 6v (off) so it SHOULDN'T ever be turning off! If it is in fact working it's only because the transistor you chose has a very high base current.

Oh, and varying the resistor will NOT change the minimum speed of the fan. It will have no positive effect on the circuit, and might make the circuit (if it works now?) stop working completely.

How to fix it:
The PWM input should be connected directly to the base of the transistor between the resistor pair. And the bottom of the resistor pair should be connected to ground (not PWM).
Finally you should change the resistor values to: 3.9k between pwr and the base of the transistor, and 2.4k between the base of the transistor to ground. This will allow a higher current to the base of the transistor, making it more likely that you'll be in the switching region of the transistor, rather than the analog region.

Hope someone finds this useful
wellactually.jpg

Last edited:
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14