• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Feeling like a complete newb.

lolzerbomb

Although i shouldn't be.

So i just bought some new parts to upgrade my computer with. Have been building my own pcs for five or so years and know a bit about it. what to look for to make sure compatibility is right and what have you.
new parts i bought include
ASRock 970 PRO3 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

EVGA 02G-P4-3657-KR GeForce GTX 650 Ti BOOST 2GB

AMD FX-8350 Vishera 4.0GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor

I have already a
CORSAIR GS800 800W ATX12V (v2.1) i believe

2 x 4GB G-skill ripjaw 1600 ddr3 ram sticks pc3-12800

Rosewill CHALLENGER Black

So after properly installing all the new hardware and plugging in all the wires into the correct slots, atx slots, etc. i turn on my computer it boots up, fans running and all... no video / mouse / or keyboard feed. to top it off the red led light in front turns and stays on. no sound comes from the system to tell me its the memory, and the only way i'm able to shut the computer down is by turning off the psu from the switch in back.

outta hours of searching online and finding nothing i go out and buy another model mobo, same brand and all.. reading somewhere it might've been a bad one.

repeat process's although this time, nothing powers up..

so i'm left with two mobos both not responding well to me... just bad luck or am i missing something bigger?

if i can supply any more info feel free to ask, i'd like to solve this as quick as possible.

could it be the ram? granted it is a bit old..

i've also followed a bunch of step by step guides in making sure what to do in case you can't get video feed etc. still no luck.

any advice or feedback or suggestions would be awesome.

Last edited:
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard B550 Aorus PRO V2
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum