• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Western Digital No Longer Honoring Warranties on OEM or Bare Drives.

Yes, to the end user. Go back and re-read the information that has been posted in the thread.

No, NOT to the end user. I've been buying WD drives for 20+ years (been buying them for resale/business over the past 5 years as I now own a computer repair business), and they have NEVER warrantied or offered RMA to the end user on any drives other than those which come in retail boxes. "Bare drive" and OEM are the same thing. They are meant to be sold to system builders, and the system builder is expected to provide warranty service. The retailer/OEM has their own channel for returning defective drives within the stated warranty period.

It's no different than OEM versions of Windows - Microsoft will not, under ANY circumstances, provide support for OEM versions of Windows, because part of the OEM partner agreement that the OEM/System Builder signs is that THEY provide a tech support channel.

The reason it is more prominent now is that you can pick up bare/OEM drives just about anywhere, including major retailers (such as Newegg, TigerDirect, and brick-and-mortars like MicroCenter), whereas you used to only find them at computer shows (once the hidden treasure of the computer building world, now largely extinct). It doesn't change the fact that the retailer who sold you the drive is expected to honor the warranty. I had to laugh at the guy who claims to be suing WD. It's a waste of money because he is going to lose. If a warranty has been advertised, it is the sole responsibility of the retailer, NOT WD.

Last edited:
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310