techPowerUp! Forums

techPowerUp! Forums (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/index.php)
-   Networking & Security (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   Attack site browsing TPU (http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91700)

kenkickr Apr 19, 2009 03:05 PM

Attack site browsing TPU
 
About 2 min ago I was checking the F/S thread and Firefox threw this up. I just scanned my system w/ Avast, Spybot, Malwarebytes, and A-2; this cannot be coming from my system

http://i300.photobucket.com/albums/n...kr/Capture.png

W1zzard Apr 19, 2009 03:23 PM

you are saying a page on our forums gave you that warning ?

Mussels Apr 19, 2009 03:25 PM

could be one of the ads again.

Give w1zzard as much info as you can!

W1zzard Apr 19, 2009 03:26 PM

the forums have no ads

Mussels Apr 19, 2009 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by W1zzard (Post 1331913)
the forums have no ads

yep. i failed it.

I missed the bit where he said B/S/T

kenkickr Apr 19, 2009 03:28 PM

I was in the F/S thread and all of a sudden this came up. I'm scanning my system again and Spybot and A-2 are only finding tracking cookies, Malwarebytes found nothing, and Avast is still scanning.

W1zzard Apr 19, 2009 03:33 PM

which thread exactly?

Mussels Apr 19, 2009 03:36 PM

I just opened every thread i could, and as many pages as possible in firefox tabs, but didnt get anything.

Google also has nothing on this 'attack' other than an interesting message about a poohead. (seriously)

Kweku Apr 19, 2009 03:40 PM

Dang, are you sure its this forum? Could be another site you had open, try check again

grunt_408 Apr 19, 2009 03:45 PM

I swear I had avira block something the other day when I was browsing tpu. I didnt take any notice of it though.
Edit I dont know much about this sort of thing I just let my anti virus ect. do the work .

Steevo Apr 19, 2009 03:48 PM

Use OPENDNS, and Avast to block the domains of know sites like that, but your probably got hijacked by someones sig or avvy and a redirect.

Mussels Apr 19, 2009 03:49 PM

i found the website in question.

http://scanner.av-protect.info/scan....25670&landid=9

http://img.techpowerup.org/090419/attack.jpg

Kaspersky blocks it too if i click on the page, the question is how you got redirected there.

kenkickr Apr 19, 2009 03:54 PM

I was just in the B/S/T, scrolled down to see if any titles interested me, and BOOM there it was. I didn't have any other tabs or pages open. All the scans just finished and all that was found was tracking cookies, just like 2 days ago. I spent sometime browsing again and not once did that message pop backup. I just wanted to let someone know...I don't want to start anything with anybody(too early for that):)

TheMailMan78 Apr 19, 2009 04:05 PM

Well if kenkickr avy would show its tits I am SURE we could get to the bottom of this.

kenkickr Apr 19, 2009 04:09 PM

I already have one infraction, don't need another...or banned:laugh:

TheMailMan78 Apr 19, 2009 04:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kenkickr (Post 1331989)
I already have one infraction, don't need another...or banned:laugh:

Its for the good of the site my friend. Tits or GTFO.

Mussels Apr 19, 2009 04:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheMailMan78 (Post 1331992)
Its for the good of the site my friend. Tits or GTFO.

keep this thread on topic. Google for cubs and you get the hi res pic of his avatar.

TheMailMan78 Apr 19, 2009 05:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mussels (Post 1332052)
keep this thread on topic. Google for cubs and you get the hi res pic of his avatar.

Sorry. You're right. I see some tits and I lose all logic. Anyway did this problem get solved?

Polaris573 Apr 19, 2009 06:20 PM

There might be a link from a spammer buried somewhere.

kenkickr Apr 20, 2009 12:01 AM

It just happened again!!! All I did was go to the main page and BOOM the picture I posted is what came up.

thraxed Apr 20, 2009 12:07 AM

Most likely reason your infected with some form of spam that trying to redirect your browser to the url thats giving you the warning. Maybe you should clean your computer with a program that works, just a suggestion.

kenkickr Apr 20, 2009 01:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thraxed (Post 1332871)
Most likely reason your infected with some form of spam that trying to redirect your browser to the url thats giving you the warning. Maybe you should clean your computer with a program that works, just a suggestion.

What would you have in mind? I trust the utilities I use. When I scan my system I have a very long routine:
Turn off System Restore
Run a boot-time scan w/ Avast
Boot into Safe Mode and check startup items with Hijackthis2.02 and remove the unnecessary ones
Scan system with Malwarebytes, Spybot, and Avast
Boot into Normal mode and check startup items with Hijackthis2.02
Scan system with Malwarebytes, Spybot, A-2, and Avast
Re-enable System Restore

I don't think you can get any cleaner than that besides format and reinstall.

Mussels Apr 20, 2009 04:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kenkickr (Post 1333042)
What would you have in mind? I trust the utilities I use. When I scan my system I have a very long routine:
Turn off System Restore
Run a boot-time scan w/ Avast
Boot into Safe Mode and check startup items with Hijackthis2.02 and remove the unnecessary ones
Scan system with Malwarebytes, Spybot, and Avast
Boot into Normal mode and check startup items with Hijackthis2.02
Scan system with Malwarebytes, Spybot, A-2, and Avast
Re-enable System Restore

I don't think you can get any cleaner than that besides format and reinstall.

You could use an AV thats a ton better than avast, like kaspersky, nod32, or the new nortons (i know, i know... they got better)

Valenciente Apr 20, 2009 07:33 AM

Try scanning your system with Ad-Aware.
Also, you can download a trial of Kaspersky Internet Security. Try scanning your system with it.

kenkickr Apr 20, 2009 12:14 PM

Since 5AM this morning I have also scanned with Kaspersky Free Trial(nothing found), Adaware(nothing found), and Norton 360 30 day trial(nothing found). I can't believe how much slower my system is with Norton 360 on it so putting Avast back on.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.