techPowerUp! Forums

Go Back   techPowerUp! Forums > Hardware > General Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Oct 26, 2009, 09:53 PM   #1
kylew
500 Posts
 
kylew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 543 (0.27/day)
Thanks: 45
Thanked 70 Times in 55 Posts
Send a message via MSN to kylew

System Specs

iPhone Unlock Rip off!

There is a website called: www.unlockediphone.info

They are selling the Ultrasn0w unlock, as well as jailbreak method as their own. They're charging £20/25 ($30/40).


£20 for the current methods and £25 for a "life time" membership which covers any future software you bring out.

I managed to acquire their guest login details if you wished to check them out, I would include screen shots of their pages, but I appreciate this may cause troubles with the size of the email and spam filters.

I thought it would be appropriate to let you all know this, and posibily help towards compiling a list of places who are ripping off the iPhone Dev team and Geohot.

I hope who ever reads this appreciates my intentions, I would like to expose these people as rip off merchants and ensure that people don't give their money to such people.
__________________
“I too project dancing people on my wall to give me the idea I'm having a great time at home.” -DanTheBanjoman

Last edited by kylew; Oct 26, 2009 at 10:21 PM.
kylew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 09:59 PM   #2
erocker
Senior Moderator
 
erocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI.
Posts: 32,294 (12.78/day)
Thanks: 2,818
Thanked 12,454 Times in 7,920 Posts

System Specs

Remove the links (spam) please.
__________________
erocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 10:00 PM   #3
Solaris17
Creator Solaris Utility DVD
 
Solaris17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Reinacting scenes from platoon with Charlie Sheen
Posts: 13,709 (4.79/day)
Thanks: 4,367
Thanked 3,295 Times in 2,311 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Solaris17 Send a message via AIM to Solaris17 Send a message via MSN to Solaris17 Send a message via Yahoo to Solaris17 Send a message via Skype™ to Solaris17

System Specs

this is rediculous this is like selling open office
__________________
I Made the Millionth post! | "Please come to WI now so I can beat you over the head with a bratwurst."-Kreij
PS3 mod 8500/8600GT Mod Guide Rebuild a Copperhead Heat Ware
NF4 Ultra SLI Mod Solaris Utility DVD 4.0 Broken CPU pin guide
Vista Mark
Solaris17 is offline  
2 Million points folded for TPU
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 10:02 PM   #4
kylew
500 Posts
 
kylew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 543 (0.27/day)
Thanks: 45
Thanked 70 Times in 55 Posts
Send a message via MSN to kylew

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by erocker View Post
Remove the links (spam) please.
My intention is to let people know what they're up to, and the link to their member's area is proof of the software that they're selling. They are very careful not to mention it anywhere but their member's area.

I'm not spamming at all, I don't want anyone to buy from these people or anything.
__________________
“I too project dancing people on my wall to give me the idea I'm having a great time at home.” -DanTheBanjoman
kylew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 10:09 PM   #5
Solaris17
Creator Solaris Utility DVD
 
Solaris17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Reinacting scenes from platoon with Charlie Sheen
Posts: 13,709 (4.79/day)
Thanks: 4,367
Thanked 3,295 Times in 2,311 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to Solaris17 Send a message via AIM to Solaris17 Send a message via MSN to Solaris17 Send a message via Yahoo to Solaris17 Send a message via Skype™ to Solaris17

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylew View Post
My intention is to let people know what they're up to, and the link to their member's area is proof of the software that they're selling. They are very careful not to mention it anywhere but their member's area.

I'm not spamming at all, I don't want anyone to buy from these people or anything.
no offense bro we all get what your doing but you can just tell us the name of who is doing it etc..but refusing to remove the links was probably a very bad move.
__________________
I Made the Millionth post! | "Please come to WI now so I can beat you over the head with a bratwurst."-Kreij
PS3 mod 8500/8600GT Mod Guide Rebuild a Copperhead Heat Ware
NF4 Ultra SLI Mod Solaris Utility DVD 4.0 Broken CPU pin guide
Vista Mark
Solaris17 is offline  
2 Million points folded for TPU
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 10:10 PM   #6
erocker
Senior Moderator
 
erocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI.
Posts: 32,294 (12.78/day)
Thanks: 2,818
Thanked 12,454 Times in 7,920 Posts

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylew View Post
My intention is to let people know what they're up to, and the link to their member's area is proof of the software that they're selling. They are very careful not to mention it anywhere but their member's area.

I'm not spamming at all, I don't want anyone to buy from these people or anything.
I know your intentions, and I'll ask you once more to remove the links. You can get your point across without the links. What's stopping people from making threads linking to WoW gold, telling them not to buy WoW gold? Posting a link is nothing more than advertising their site regardless of your opinion on it.
__________________
erocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 10:20 PM   #7
kylew
500 Posts
 
kylew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 543 (0.27/day)
Thanks: 45
Thanked 70 Times in 55 Posts
Send a message via MSN to kylew

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by erocker View Post
I know your intentions, and I'll ask you once more to remove the links. You can get your point across without the links. What's stopping people from making threads linking to WoW gold, telling them not to buy WoW gold? Posting a link is nothing more than advertising their site regardless of your opinion on it.
I'm not refusing, I should have been a bit more clear.

What is it exactly you want removed? The url of the site itself? The member area details and url? Both?

That's why I was saying I'm not spamming as I thought you may be saying remove all links relating to them, but then it wouldn't be clear who I was saying are ripoffs.
__________________
“I too project dancing people on my wall to give me the idea I'm having a great time at home.” -DanTheBanjoman
kylew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2009, 10:22 PM   #8
kylew
500 Posts
 
kylew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 543 (0.27/day)
Thanks: 45
Thanked 70 Times in 55 Posts
Send a message via MSN to kylew

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solaris17 View Post
no offense bro we all get what your doing but you can just tell us the name of who is doing it etc..but refusing to remove the links was probably a very bad move.
As I've said, I wasn't refusing, just unsure and no offence taken.

I've I've took off the rest and left up just the main address of their site until erocker clarifies it for me.
__________________
“I too project dancing people on my wall to give me the idea I'm having a great time at home.” -DanTheBanjoman
kylew is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kylew For This Useful Post:
Old Oct 26, 2009, 11:23 PM   #9
erocker
Senior Moderator
 
erocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI.
Posts: 32,294 (12.78/day)
Thanks: 2,818
Thanked 12,454 Times in 7,920 Posts

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylew View Post
As I've said, I wasn't refusing, just unsure and no offence taken.

I've I've took off the rest and left up just the main address of their site until erocker clarifies it for me.
We don't really need any links. There are other websites doing the same thing.
__________________
erocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a deal? or a rip off? ChewyBrownSuga System Builder's Advice 7 Sep 22, 2009 03:05 AM
OCUK another rip off Nitro-Max General Hardware 37 Jul 13, 2008 02:47 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
no new posts