• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Dsl

andrew123

Hi Guys,

I'm an Installation and Repair technician with Telus.

I'd like to post a few quick things about some of the DSL issues some of you are having, as well as some myths and some technical solutions that may help you troubleshoot a problem with DSL.

Firstly,

Let's talk about Speeeeeeed. DSL companies say that DSL is quicker, Cable companies say that Cable is quicker, well, they're both right. DSL is a dedicated connection, and while you can't pump as much bandwidth over it as a Coax, it is more consistent, because Coax connections are token ring, everyone is on the same network. (that's starting to change as Coax companies make changes to their networks too become more competitive). However in a situation where a Coax user is in a neighborhood that doesn't have many subscribers, they can easily achieve speeds that are unattainable by DSL. On a busy day, your cable connection might be pretty much unusable in during primetime hours, while DSL stays at the same rate (unless it's affected by line conditions).

Now getting back to DSL, let's talk about how the signal originates. It all starts at the CO, with the DSL equipment. It's the source of the signal. Now, we want to get this signal out to our subscribers and there are a variety of different methods of getting this out to our users..