• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Eyefinity w/ HDMI?

Dolph

Hey guys,
Firstly, id like to just say, i apologize greatly for this extremely noobish question. I am very new to techforums, and very new to eyefinity.

I have 2 x DVI and 1 HDMI screens to plug in for the time being, it doesn't recognize that i can active all three. Is it true that you need the mini active displayport adapter to eyefinity 3 screens? Can't you just use 2 dvi and 1 hdmi? If not, then how are you able to use 5 screens with this card? Does the HDMI suddenly work if you just have an active display port adapter in as well?

I am very sorry if this was posted somewhere, or if this is completley obvious, but it isn't to me so any advice or information would be pleasant :)

Unless you have a Sapphire FLEX brand card, you will need an active DisplayPort/Mini-DisplayPort adapter. I'd recommend an active DisplayPort-to-DVI adapter, for the reason that I don't know if you can rely on the adapter passing your HDMI audio. How it works is you plug one of your DVI monitors into the adapter, and then plug the adapter into a DisplayPort/Mini-DisplayPort on your card.

Eyefinity requires a Radeon HD 5000/6000/7000 series GPU, and allows for up to 6 monitors per card. However, note that not all cards provide adequate display outputs for so many monitors. Past the first two monitors, all monitors need be DisplayPort(or converted to it via an active DP adapter). Sapphire's FLEX line of cards are the only exception to this that I know of, and as far as I know they accomplish that with an integrated DisplayPort adapter.

To verify all this and more, here is a link to AMDs Eyefinity FAQs: http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/amd-eyefinity-technology/how-to/Pages/faqs.aspx

Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Ahh i see, i have an xfx 6950 2gb, it has 2 x DVI, 2 x Mini DP, 1 x HDMI.