techPowerUp! Forums

Go Back   techPowerUp! Forums > Hardware > Networking & Security

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:03 PM   #1
johnspack
3500 Posts
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nelson B.C. Canada
Posts: 3,725 (1.81/day)
Thanks: 282
Thanked 750 Times in 516 Posts

System Specs

Weird webblock issue with ff

Not sure where the heck to put this... I just had a weird issue with firefox, well waterfox, and a site, www.mamma.com, which has been around for years and years, and I use it for my home page. I just hit it, and apparently google reported it as an attack site, which is rubbish. I've contacted firefox, and they just say "google did it". How do I contact google support and ask what the hell is going on?
__________________
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73875
Clan !! The Fighting 24th !!
http://fxxiv.forumotion.ca/
Buy the games you like! Boycott the garbage!
Cruncher: P6T Xeon ES W3570 6Gbs Ram
1xgtx285 1xgtx260
johnspack is offline  
10 Million points folded for TPU
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:05 PM   #2
brandonwh64
Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
 
brandonwh64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 13,564 (10.01/day)
Thanks: 2,147
Thanked 5,341 Times in 3,696 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to brandonwh64 Send a message via AIM to brandonwh64 Send a message via MSN to brandonwh64 Send a message via Yahoo to brandonwh64

System Specs

Even chrome says its malware when I clicked it.. The name sound pornoish
__________________
Cruncher's:
All GPU's
GPU's:
7970 3GB *Unlocked* = 8 Threads
5770 1GB OCed = 2 Threads
brandonwh64 is offline  
Crunching for Team TPU
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:06 PM   #3
johnspack
3500 Posts
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nelson B.C. Canada
Posts: 3,725 (1.81/day)
Thanks: 282
Thanked 750 Times in 516 Posts

System Specs

No, Mamma has been around for years, not a pop up site or anything, I've never had this issue with it before. It's just a meta-search engine.
Edit: someone is messing with it... I have to do something about it.
Edit2: and it's only saying that because google is reporting it.
Edit3: dam chrome wants me to shut down ff to import... bbiab
__________________
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73875
Clan !! The Fighting 24th !!
http://fxxiv.forumotion.ca/
Buy the games you like! Boycott the garbage!
Cruncher: P6T Xeon ES W3570 6Gbs Ram
1xgtx285 1xgtx260
johnspack is offline  
10 Million points folded for TPU
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:26 PM   #4
johnspack
3500 Posts
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nelson B.C. Canada
Posts: 3,725 (1.81/day)
Thanks: 282
Thanked 750 Times in 516 Posts

System Specs

Yeah, no, someone has initiated an attack of some kind on it. Mamma is very low budget, and probably can't deal with this. It's a very good simple meta-search engine, and always works. No one seems to know what's going on. I just installed chrome, and it blocks it too. I used mamma as my home page for years now, this sucks.
__________________
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73875
Clan !! The Fighting 24th !!
http://fxxiv.forumotion.ca/
Buy the games you like! Boycott the garbage!
Cruncher: P6T Xeon ES W3570 6Gbs Ram
1xgtx285 1xgtx260
johnspack is offline  
10 Million points folded for TPU
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:28 PM   #5
95Viper
3500 Posts
 
95Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
Posts: 3,839 (2.28/day)
Thanks: 2,032
Thanked 1,416 Times in 1,115 Posts

System Specs

Google Safebrowsing has been part of Chrome and FF for a while.

VirusTotal shows that site as Malicious only for Google Safebrowsing... must have caught something on that site and not necessarily that site's fault. Could be a Drive-By hit on the site.

Disable Google safebrowsing (do this at your own risk); at least it would be a temporary fix, 'til it gets sorted.

How to disable Google Safe Browsing

EDIT:
Does FireFox(Waterfox) have a tool, extension or a setting to allow you to add that site as an exception.
95Viper is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 95Viper For This Useful Post:
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:33 PM   #6
johnspack
3500 Posts
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nelson B.C. Canada
Posts: 3,725 (1.81/day)
Thanks: 282
Thanked 750 Times in 516 Posts

System Specs

Yeah, definitely a drive by. Mamma still exists in other forms: http://mamma.intelius.com/ , so only part of it got flagged.
Edit: and yes, I can still allow it in waterfox.
Edit2: and endpoint doesn't go off!
__________________
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73875
Clan !! The Fighting 24th !!
http://fxxiv.forumotion.ca/
Buy the games you like! Boycott the garbage!
Cruncher: P6T Xeon ES W3570 6Gbs Ram
1xgtx285 1xgtx260
johnspack is offline  
10 Million points folded for TPU
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to johnspack For This Useful Post:
Old Dec 19, 2012, 08:49 PM   #7
95Viper
3500 Posts
 
95Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
Posts: 3,839 (2.28/day)
Thanks: 2,032
Thanked 1,416 Times in 1,115 Posts

System Specs

They got hit by popunder.

You can run the google safebrowsing diagnostic for them by using this in your browser: http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/d...site=mamma.com
And, you can click on the links in that page to see diagnostics on the linked sites.

And, you can check other sites by changing the site=xxxxxxxxx.xxx
95Viper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2012, 04:36 PM   #8
johnspack
3500 Posts
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nelson B.C. Canada
Posts: 3,725 (1.81/day)
Thanks: 282
Thanked 750 Times in 516 Posts

System Specs

Apparently all is well again. Both wf and chrome no longer block it. And darn whoever mentioned chrome... it's a pretty quick little browser. Just too bad it's not 64 bit yet. Tried the beta 64bit opera build, but it won't import my wf bookmarks like chrome will....
__________________
Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73875
Clan !! The Fighting 24th !!
http://fxxiv.forumotion.ca/
Buy the games you like! Boycott the garbage!
Cruncher: P6T Xeon ES W3570 6Gbs Ram
1xgtx285 1xgtx260
johnspack is offline  
10 Million points folded for TPU
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with weird issue. acuriousman AMD / ATI 9 Mar 25, 2012 11:17 AM
Weird issue with cod4 install! 1nf3rn0x Games 4 Oct 9, 2010 12:40 PM
Weird issue with my internet... Kantastic Networking & Security 8 Jun 12, 2009 02:12 PM
Weird issue with my NF4 crowbarmaster General Hardware 10 Jan 8, 2009 12:20 AM
Weird issue with HD 3870 freaksavior AMD / ATI 4 May 13, 2008 08:23 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
no new posts