techPowerUp! Forums

Go Back   techPowerUp! Forums > www.techpowerup.com > Comments & Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old Dec 15, 2008, 12:53 AM   #1
a111087
2000 Posts
 
a111087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 2,509 (1.12/day)
Thanks: 240
Thanked 189 Times in 156 Posts

System Specs

cross-site scripting

No script filters cross-site scripting on techpowerup.com
Then page is transferred to
http://76.74.239.143/zzaweoiweoiw/pdf.php?id=6105&vis=1

Any explanation?
__________________
a111087 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 07:43 AM   #2
W1zzard
Benevolent Dictator
 
W1zzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 13,761 (4.18/day)
Thanks: 184
Thanked 10,208 Times in 3,157 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to W1zzard Send a message via AIM to W1zzard Send a message via MSN to W1zzard

System Specs

uh?
W1zzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 03:56 PM   #3
a111087
2000 Posts
 
a111087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 2,509 (1.12/day)
Thanks: 240
Thanked 189 Times in 156 Posts

System Specs

that's what I said, but it did it to me a few times already
__________________
a111087 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 06:22 PM   #4
W1zzard
Benevolent Dictator
 
W1zzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 13,761 (4.18/day)
Thanks: 184
Thanked 10,208 Times in 3,157 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to W1zzard Send a message via AIM to W1zzard Send a message via MSN to W1zzard

System Specs

can you explain what you are doing and what happens?
W1zzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 06:44 PM   #5
a111087
2000 Posts
 
a111087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 2,509 (1.12/day)
Thanks: 240
Thanked 189 Times in 156 Posts

System Specs

When I go to techpowerup.com (using Firefox 3.0.4) I sometimes (about 30% of the time) get this:

this is what no script console shows:


Right after that I got the message from Adobe reader saying it can't open pdf file in firefox because ... well, I just can't get it to work with latest firefox. Then page is transfered to the link below:
http://76.74.239.143/zzaweoiweoiw/pdf.php?id=6105&vis=1

That is all. I don't know what that is. I'm probably making too big of a deal out of it.

Oh, and no-script is set to allow all script and it still does it.
__________________
a111087 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 06:51 PM   #6
Fitseries3
Eleet Hardware Junkie
 
Fitseries3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 14,993 (7.30/day)
Thanks: 4,318
Thanked 3,285 Times in 2,186 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Fitseries3

System Specs

you must have some sorta virus/worm/spyware/etc.
Fitseries3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 07:01 PM   #7
W1zzard
Benevolent Dictator
 
W1zzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 13,761 (4.18/day)
Thanks: 184
Thanked 10,208 Times in 3,157 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to W1zzard Send a message via AIM to W1zzard Send a message via MSN to W1zzard

System Specs

anyone else see this?
W1zzard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 07:02 PM   #8
Fitseries3
Eleet Hardware Junkie
 
Fitseries3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 14,993 (7.30/day)
Thanks: 4,318
Thanked 3,285 Times in 2,186 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Fitseries3

System Specs

not me. sometimes the home pages stops loading after the tpu logo pops up though if that means anything.
Fitseries3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 07:03 PM   #9
WhiteLotus
3500 Posts
 
WhiteLotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 4,801 (2.26/day)
Thanks: 529
Thanked 856 Times in 682 Posts

System Specs

nope not to me.
__________________
http://tpucdn.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic41435_1.gif

“Sorry but I cannot respond now, I am running a full virus scan on the internet.” -brandonwh64
WhiteLotus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 07:25 PM   #10
a111087
2000 Posts
 
a111087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 2,509 (1.12/day)
Thanks: 240
Thanked 189 Times in 156 Posts

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitseries3 View Post
you must have some sorta virus/worm/spyware/etc.
I have nod32 running in background all the time
I'll try some free anti-adware/spyware to see what is going on

EDIT:
Ok, I found one trojan, but it just displays web content on your desktop saying that your computer is infected...
__________________

Last edited by a111087; Dec 15, 2008 at 07:46 PM.
a111087 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:18 PM   #11
Polaris573
Senior Moderator
 
Polaris573's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Little Rock, USA
Posts: 3,284 (1.09/day)
Thanks: 68
Thanked 765 Times in 451 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Polaris573

System Specs

I'm using Firefox and NoScript and that never happens to me.
__________________

Lector benevole, legum servi sumus ut liberi esse possimus. Accipere quam facere praestat injuriam

Fold for Techpowerup!
Polaris573 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:20 PM   #12
spearman914
2000 Posts
 
spearman914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brooklyn, New York 11223
Posts: 3,000 (1.61/day)
Thanks: 339
Thanked 510 Times in 482 Posts
Send a message via AIM to spearman914

System Specs

Have u did some tweaks in about:config in firefox. Try resetting all the changes u made.

go to the address bar and type about:config. It's for advanced tweaking.
__________________
.................................................. ..
“Originally Posted by mlee49 So pain level on a 1 to 10 scale, 10 being having a wart removed on your butthole with pliers.”
spearman914 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2008, 08:24 PM   #13
a111087
2000 Posts
 
a111087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 2,509 (1.12/day)
Thanks: 240
Thanked 189 Times in 156 Posts

System Specs

didn't do any tweaks there
and this windows is about 2 weeks old
__________________
a111087 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2008, 09:01 PM   #14
thoughtdisorder
1000 Posts
 
thoughtdisorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Just South of Mars
Posts: 1,168 (0.59/day)
Thanks: 194
Thanked 287 Times in 248 Posts

System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by a111087 View Post
No script filters cross-site scripting on techpowerup.com
Then page is transferred to
http://76.74.239.143/zzaweoiweoiw/pdf.php?id=6105&vis=1

Any explanation?
Hate to say it, but if you Google just part of that thread there is some discussion of an "exploit" out there that redirects you to the very document you have listed. I would run a few different Anti virus programs as well as CCleaner to rule out any exploits. (Newsvine)

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...43&btnG=Search
__________________
“The Illuminati stole my puppy and locked my DDR2 at 800 Mhz. The bastards.” -TheMailMan78

Help Nirvana Beach grow!
BSOD Screen Saver GamePowerUp!

thoughtdisorder is offline  
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to thoughtdisorder For This Useful Post:
Old Dec 18, 2008, 10:22 PM   #15
a111087
2000 Posts
 
a111087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 2,509 (1.12/day)
Thanks: 240
Thanked 189 Times in 156 Posts

System Specs

lol, that sucks!
it doesn't redirect me to pdf file anymore, but i still see the cross-site script sign
oh well, I didn't do an upgrade to run less anti-virus programs )
__________________
a111087 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2008, 05:57 PM   #16
a111087
2000 Posts
 
a111087's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US
Posts: 2,509 (1.12/day)
Thanks: 240
Thanked 189 Times in 156 Posts

System Specs

ok, its gone now for sure.
__________________
a111087 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hacked Antivirus Site Delivers a Virus Polaris573 News 14 Feb 10, 2008 08:38 PM
Awesome Site !! Kool Forums ! My Contribution to the Site! LoLo Comments & Feedback 7 Oct 26, 2004 06:50 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
no new posts