1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

£300 build, need questions answered and opinions :)

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by xfxrising, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Okay so last night i finally convinced my dad to let me build a pc and then what do you know? I wake up in the morning and someone has bought the last 960t :( So i've had to restructure the build and this is what ive come up with:

    CASE: Zalman T2 (£17.94)
    CPU: AMD FX 3820 (£124.74)
    MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-USB3 (£40.92)
    PSU: Corsair 600CX (£54.17)
    RAM: Avexir MPower Red Series 8GB -1600mhz (2x4GB) (£40) (May get 2 of these if i have the money)
    Total Inc Delivery: £292.42

    Its a little under the £336 budget i have. So instead of putting the spare money towards a better mobo or case im thinking of saving it for a H60 (The new one)? i would have to mount it to the top of the case tho and im not sure if that could cause any problems? Also, would i need to update the bios on the motherboard? The FX series has been out for quite a while now so shouldn't the board have been updated already before being sent to the shops?

    *Primarily for editing - dvd drive and HHD isn't listed because ill reuse one from this pc - Will add a gpu next year*
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2013
  2. n3rdf1ght3r

    n3rdf1ght3r

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    The city with the former druggie Mayor
    Your build looks fine to me, your processor isn't listed on the motherboard's supported CPU list but all the other FX series processors are on it, so you most likely wont run into any issues. http://www.gigabyte.com/support-downloads/cpu-support-popup.aspx?pid=4305
    You might want to make sure your ram is 1333MHz because your motherboard won't support anything higher than that, otherwise it's fine.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,637 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
  4. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    the ram is 1600mhz, i assumed it would be fine because it says "1333+". wouldn't it just underclock it 1330mhz? or would it stop the computer from booting up?

    Getting a more expensive board isn't really an option because i would then have to cut into my h60 funds :( And i dont have a job or get money from family unless its a special occasion like a birthday (which ive already had this year) i could probably do my sisters paper round for a month but is £4 a week really worth it? lol
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2013
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,090 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,855
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Should do yes, I assume that you don't want any optical drives or HDD's? personally for that build, as some have said I would go for a slightly better Motherboard but to offset that possibly go FX 6 core, not sure on a budget build the 8 core would really be fully utilised?
     
  6. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Hmm, just remembered that i got some money from Easter and i don't think ive added that to the budget i have. Ill go check and if i didn't add the Easter money then i should have enough to get a 970 chipset board and a h60 already. Do you think i would be better off just getting a better mobo now and worry about getting a h60 later if i dont have the extra cash? Im starting to think so.

    Thanks for multi-quoting that last piece for me xD
     
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,765 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    what intention do you have with this computer? noticed your saying £ so UK. may worth going second hand and buying from people on here, then you may slap together something a bit better.
    everyone loves a good cause ( means cheaper )

    and if you do buy new, make sure they are reputable sellers with good ratings. i hate for you to go through the agro of not receiving items etc
     
  8. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Ill defiantly keep that in mind thanks for the idea.

    Mostly going to be editing in after effects and sony vegas for now but im planning to buy a gtx 660 or one of the new cards in the same price range next year.
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,090 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,855
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Well with a 6 core you would probably need a little less on the cooling side, if your happy with say 4gig from it then a decent air cooler would suffice with a twin fan setup, that should again offset some cash.
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,415 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,536
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Hes fine. He will just have to manually put the settings of the memory in. As long as the board has AM3+ socket itll work with the board, might need a BIOS update though.

    OP: about the cooler. I would get a better board instead. Whats the point in running a cooler, on a CPU that probably wont be able to overclock on the board chosen?
     
  11. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Very true aha, guess ill go for a more suitable board. Only problem now is i need to get one with integrated graphics hmm :/
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,090 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,855
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    So you are actually now going to look for a CPU with built in graphics (IGP) lol.
     
  13. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,449 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    AMD FX chips have integrated HD 6/7*** graphics integrated into the CPU now, the motherboards just output them

    Sorry having a blonde moment I was on about the AMD A series APU's not FX
     
  14. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    I thought a pc needs a graphics card/igp to boot up otherwise it will just display no signal on your monitor? maybe i was wrong lol

    no worries lol
     
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    11,045 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,533
    You do need some sort of GPU, not sure what Tatty means here. The A10-IGP's are actually fairly decent.
     
  16. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Okay thanks for that xD And im gonna take a guess here and say that there probably isn't a 9xx board with igp :/ So im either gonna have to move to intel or stick with a 7xx board. Maybe thats what he means? because i dont have a clue lol

    Edit: Just googled it and i was right about 9xx series not having integrated graphics (Fffffuuuuuuuuuuu-) Whats the problem with using a 7xx board with a 8 core? I dont need any of the things you get with 9xx anyway lol (No need for sata 3 or usb 3 etc) Guessing they have better/more overclocking features/options or something?
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  17. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,090 (5.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,855
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    My comment was because he thought it was the board not the CPU. :D
     
  18. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
  19. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,765 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    get a 990 chipset board, and some stupidly cheap pcie gpu. ebay or something.

    that way you can have your FX processor, AM3+ board (good for oc and keeps it new) and plug in your stupidly cheap gpu for the monitor.

    when i first started this build, first in years for me! i bought cheap shit, and in the end upgraded piece by piece. it costs more. so get the fundamentals right and then add on later.

    now i have a bunch of cheap parts laying around and a build that is evolving.
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,415 (6.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,536
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What exactly is this rig for. If you need integrated GPU, and a decent one at that. Why don't you make a Trinity A10 build with an FM2 motherboard?

    Something like the 5800k, decent gigabyte, Asus, Asrock, FM2 board, memory at 1600mhz+, etc. Save you some cash too.
     
  21. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,765 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    video editing etc. he wants a 660 later on.

    lol i feel like offering him my old parts :laugh:


    (different thread was gaming lol)
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  22. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Its for video editing so ideally i need an fx chip (Preferably a 83XX because im so sick of these horrible render times i have lmao) i only need an igp because i dont want to have to buy a gpu, even if its cheap. £20 can make quite a big difference (For example, ive gone from a 760G board to a 990 board from £20)

    Do you have a stupidly cheap gpu in your pile of cheap shit that i could 'borrow'? ;) jokes, but thats what im trying to avoid happening by going all out straight away aha. Just found a b grade ASUS M5A99X EVO for £60, seems liek a good deal. What do you think?

    Guess im gonna have to give up on my dream of getting a water cooler for now a spend it towards a cheap gpu and 990 mobo D:
     
  23. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,765 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    depends where you live, if you was around the corner then i could lend a gts450, mobo, ram, case etc haha!

    £300 will be very tough for buying high end straight away. so get the fundamentals right, i wish i got on forums etc before i started buying and got some advice.

    depends why its b grade? usually a return or repair. but that price is pretty good (what warranty tho?), and a few on this forum have that board, but its tricky with overclocking.

    i know someone that does rendering relentlessly and has crossfire/ i7 and watercooled (£2k) so start thinking hard, and ask plenty of questions

    also what monitor are you going to use? or planning to use the tv?
     
    xfxrising says thanks.
  24. xfxrising

    xfxrising New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    28 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Thanks for the advice aha and pretty sure i don't live round the corner so thats defiantly out of the question xD And yeah illl probably never go high end because its to much lol, definitely trying to make sure that i pick parts that i wont have to replace until i need to make major upgrades (Hence the reason for the 600w psu)

    It has a 60 day warranty with the website. Is there any board manufactures you know that are good/descent for overclocking? Found a b grade MSI 990XA-GD55 for £70 with a 90 day warranty with all the accessory and such, could that be better?
    Gonna be honest every-time i realize i need to buy something else, i start to die a little inside aha.

    Im going to be using my 1080p tv/monitor, why?
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  25. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,765 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,295
    boards ability to overclock are based on their power phase design, vrm protection, thermal properties and cpu cooling. (and the users ability)

    anything that says yes on recommended can be overclocked, look for higher phase count, and yes on heatsinked

    https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...D79Joo7tdE9xMUFlMEVWeFhuckJEVF9aMmtpUFE&gid=2

    oh a larger monitor will probably mean you need more memory on the gpu, avoid 1gig and aim at 2+

    yea its costly, i spent £180 on a psu (others spend more and more)........ im still waiting to buy an 8350 or maybe the one coming out soon
     
    Frick and xfxrising say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page