1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1,5GB or 2GB RAM?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by gygabite, Dec 28, 2005.

1. gygabite

gygabite New Member

Thanks Received:
    hello!
    is for modern games (fear,bf2,civ4,spellforce2,...) 1.5GB ram capacity(3x512) enough or
    should there be at least 2GB(2x512 and 1x1024) on my GA-K8NE?
    the framerate in FEAR is 35(average) with my 754 athlon3700+ and 1.5GB RAM
    and powercolor-x850xt(non p.e.).
    is the low framerate because of the RAM?

2. Duncan New Member

Thanks Received:
    Id recomend getting 2x1gb RAM to run in dual channel.

I "think" (im no expert) that it may be because of the RAM, because the rest of the system shouldnt cause those framerates. Depends on your exact models of RAM aswell.

3. spectre440 New Member

Thanks Received:
    possible.
    but i dont think putting in another half gig will give you much of an increase.

what kind of RAM do you have? speed? timings?
    capacity isnt everything when it comes to RAM.

edit:
    on a side note, 35 FPS could be a bit "lowish" to be running a game, but even if you get it to go up to 40-45-50 or more FPS, you yourself will not notice much of a difference.
    the average human eye usually can't percieve differences between such high frame rates.
    that's why when you go see a film at the cinema, most of the time you'll be viewing the film at 30-35 FPS.

4. wtf8269

wtf8269 New Member

Thanks Received:
    Socket 754 boards don't have dual channel.

5. crankydan New Member

Thanks Received:

I dont think this board is Dual Channel.

6. gygabite

gygabite New Member

Thanks Received:
    no dual channel on all 754boards

there's no Dual Channel to use on 754.
    My timings:
    1.Slot: corsair 2.5-3-3-7
    2.Slot:noname(nanya) with 3-3-3-8
    3.Slot: corsair 2.5-3-3-7
    in my bios i set for all of them 2.5-3-3-6 in ddr400(200MHz)