1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1.65V i5 3570K

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by bettz, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. bettz

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My friend gave me 4gbs of Kingston HyperX blu DDR3 1600MHz XMP DIMM KHX1600C9D3B1K2/4GX which i plan to use in my htpc build.

    I've got a i5 3570k and the following motherboard Asus P8Z77-M have i cocked up :confused::confused: i've read that Ivybridge shouldnt be run on ram over 1.5v but im confused as people say 1.65v is fine :confused::confused::confused:

    Can anybody clear this up for me.
     
  2. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    What are you planing on doing? Man to put 1.5v is insane and to do 1.6v is just suicide!
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Just set the ram to 1333mhz CAS 9 1.5V and it should run without issues.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    You could always try 1600 CL9 at 1.5-1.55v and see if it is stable. Ram doesn't always have to have the memory voltage at full spec..
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,222 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,390
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    hes talking about memory. Read the post, not the title.

    OP it depends on the memory. Some kits say 1.65 so do 1.65. Some are 1.5v, and some some go as low as 1.3v
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,975 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    I wouldn't know of an issue with running 1.65v RAM with Ivy Bridge. Heck, places like Newegg advertise some 1.65v RAM as being made for/compatable with Ivy Bridge. I've been running my RAM at 1.65v for a while now. No issue.
     
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    There is a similar issue with the mem controller voltage vs memory voltage like we saw with the x58 boards. Most motherboards if the mem controller is on auto will correct and balance for the difference in voltage. Difference between the two should not be more than .5v. That allows for the mem controller to be run at a minimum of 1.15V for 1.65V dram voltage
     
  8. bettz

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So i should be ok to run the ram then?
     
  9. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    823 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    He's talking about RAM volts
     
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Oh Okay . :eek:
     
  11. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    823 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Intel's way of covering their ass

    Intel doesn't recommend using over 1.5v for RAM, but also says voltage over 1.65 will reduce the life of your processor, and possibly kill it quick, but I know people who go over 1.65 when overclocking without apparent damage. I currently use 1.65v 1600 Kingston that's really just overclocked 1333 sticks with more voltage. Right now 2400 Ram and up is all 1.65v, but you can get 8 GB of 2133/1.5v RAM for $56, with decent timings and latency. That's the sweet spot - only a few bucks more than basic RAM, with low voltage and timings, such as the Intel Extreme Masters from Patriot. Ivy Bridge is so efficient at using memory, you don't get much out of higher memory speeds, but you do get lower latency, and up to 25 GB/s throughput, which is much more than you really need. I feel more comfortable using 1.5 volts and will soon upgrade to the 2133/1.5v.
     
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,034 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    1.5v is JEDEC standard for DDR3, so naturally Intel would back that standard. Intel spec allows for up to 1.65v. As Binge says, memory voltage must be within .5v of qpi/dram (memory controller) voltage, so the memory controller should be no less than 1.15v when vmem is 1.65v. If you had 1.6v memory you could attempt to run 1.1v qpi/dram. I'm not sure what would happen if you ran 1.1v qpi/dram and 1.65v memory. Is it just that vmem and qpi/dram voltage must be within .5v of eachother, or is it just that over 1.65v memory is dangerous? That's my own question left unanswered thus far.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Awesome thread, I'm learning here on the sidelines :)

    So If I bump my CPU to 1.2v, memory would be safe at say 1.7v?

    I've gone out and bought 16GB of CL9 2133 DDR3 memory that is rated at 1.65v (it seems almost all of them are 1.65v). On another note, I have yet to buy motherboard and CPU, LOL.
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    IVB is not X58 or P55, so none of this applies.

    1.65 V ram is fine. Intel says max 1.85 V.
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,034 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Ohio
    No, not CPU voltage. The two voltages that must be within .5v of eachother are QPI/DRAM (memory controller) voltage and memory voltage.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Does not apply to 1155. Memory controller votlage is default 0.925 V, memory is 1.5 V, there goes that idea. :p

    Of course, QPI is not used any more.

    To the OP, all you should have to do is enable XMP in BIOS. 1600 Mhz is default for IVB, and 1.65 V should be fine....has been for me since the launch.;)
     
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    983
    This. Spot on as usual. :toast:
     
  18. bettz

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I ended up solving this when My friend gave me a set of 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 1600MHz DDR3 Dual he had lying around .
     
  19. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,678 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    Man I thought this was referring to CPU voltage at first! :eek:
     
  20. Vlada011

    Vlada011

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    342 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    I have Kingston 1.65V on 1600MHz, but only tree days more, than Dominator Platinum will change and that is 1.5V. Because 1.65V I set voltage manual to 1.5,
    XMP load 1.65V and for Intel is better 1.5V. I follow that story and it's not hard to listen and buy 1.5V if they say that is better. About some damage during keep on 1.65V I don't know and don't think on that. Intel say Yes 1.65V colud damage. I read that but I know lot of people keep on 1.65V.
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I am using Corsair 1600Mhz CAS 7 1.8V ram in my cruncher at work. Got it set at 1333mhz cas 9 1.5V easy
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I got to start a thread whilst I shop for IB motherboards, or should I just contact you directly? :laugh:
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    :laugh: MAke a thread!
     
    Sasqui says thanks.
  24. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Cad,

    So what changed to offset the correlation between memory voltage and memory controller voltage. Other than the defaults (which are different on my board than what was posted) do you have any hard numbers or long standing overclocks that use mem and controller voltages with a difference over .5V?
     
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,358
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure do have that. Many /SNBIVB system has more than that, as I stated above.;) I've seen 0.860V- 0.950 V for IMC, and 1.5V is default...immeidately, any stock CPU goes outside of that ratio.


    What changed? The sockets? The CPUs? That only applied to P55/1366; we've had 1155 for some time now(nearly 2 years), and no, it does not matter, since it works as I stated above.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page