1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1.6GHZ Banias Pentium M + CT-479 overclocking.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by W2hCYK, May 14, 2006.

  1. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I just bought a new Pentium M 1.6GHz 1mb L2 on ebay for $24, and a CT-479, so while I'm waiting, i'm curious, how well does this preform? I know it cools like mad, and has insane clock for clock speeds. Anyone ever overclock it before?
     
  2. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    I have never overclocked one, I use them on laptops all the time, they seem to perform well, How is it running stock first of all, temps?
     
  3. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
  4. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    They are on the way in the mail, but I have one in my laptop as well, it runs 30c idle, due to the fan shutting off @ 30, if I leave it on, it idles at room temp, and load is around 46c

    and cooling doesnt have to be fantastic for this, it only puts out like 27.4watts of power if i remember right. The CT-479 is what I'm getting, and I have a P4P800-E Deluxe, lots of overclocking features on that board, so I'm not worried about the board. Cooling, if i need better, i'll mod something. If I need to, I'll add a IHS to the cpu to keep it from cracking..
     
  5. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    What socket is this anyway?
     
  6. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    479
     
  7. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  8. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    479???... never heard of it...
     
  9. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!

    It uses an adapter to plug into a regular P4 socket. The adapter is called CT-479, and only one of asus' mobos works with it.
     
  10. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Asus has a list of motherboards that works with it, not just 1.

    479 is a mobile CPU pin format.
     
  11. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    im aware of that; so the answer to MY question is yes?
     
  12. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    If the motherboard supports socket 479,I'm sure it would support the 479 mobile series, but they say its LGA.. idk...

    Thats a very nice board, PCI-E for a pentium M = godly gaming. I remember seeing a review of a 2.2GHz overclocked pentium M dothan beating out an X2 4400+ in everything. How much I'd love to find that article and reproduce that system, lol...
     
  13. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Yea, bikr you get the adapter, to 479, which allows you to put mobile processers on it.

    By the way, is a pentuim M better then a p4, i dont think so?
     
  14. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    theoretically this mobo could be paired with a core duo?

    if so that would be killer!:rockout:
     
  15. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    clock for clock the mobiles are much better from what i understand
     
  16. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    the conroe is based on the pentium m architkture
    and the pentium is way faster than a p4
     
  17. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Pentium M is fastest chip for gaming then any other chip currently on the market. Only downside is there isnt any SLI or CF motherboards :(

    I've been using a CT-479 system for awhile now, but my chip is a dothan ;)

    your chip is 16x100 i believe, I've heard the max fsb with modded adapter is around 180 with a banias core. So your max would be around 16x180 = 2880MHz if you can keep the chip cool enough. i'ld shoot for a 150 fsb which would be 2400MHz and let you run just about any ram at 2-2-2-5. One thing i dont like about the CT-479 adapter is that the heat sink doesnt make good contact with the chip. I modded my old 478socket heat sink and it does a much better job.

    My frame rates nearly doubled when i upgraded my old P4 3.2 GHz to a 2.0GHz Pentium M in a P4P800-E using x850xt.

    Your gunna have to mod your adapter if you want the most outta the chip, asus didnt design it to overclock as much as these chips go. Also you should keep your eye on ebay and see if you can get a dothan, should be around $70-80 for a 2M cache 533 FSB chip.
     
  18. jeffeulogy New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no, it's not compatible with the dothan or banias (pentium m). it's made for yonah (core duo)

    the ct-479 adapter will only work with socket 478 motherboards
     
  19. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Fr@nk, do you have AIM? I'd like some more info about this adapter, that'd be fantastic, PM me if you have AIM. Thanks a ton!
     
  20. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    check my post #14.

    so i was thinking right...............

    so now how does this sound? the aforementioned asus board with one of these core duo cpu's and a flagship pci-e grfx card = 3d heaven ??

    to the OP -sorry for going slightly off topic:eek: -

    :toast:
     
  21. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Core Duo performs about the same as a AMD X2 at the same clock speed, so putting it in that asus board(which isnt a high performance board) would be slower then a current X2 systems. Just wait 2 months and get a conroe or wait even longer and see what AMD puts out next ;)

    W2hCYK: I dont use aim but i'ld be glad to share what i have learned messing around with these CT-479 adapters. My first question for you: is your video card dead? says so in your sig and if your gunna get a new video card you might aswell get a new mb and get PCI-E. Dont waste your money on an AGP card just to put together a Pentium M system.
     
  22. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I'm sticking with my 9800 Pro for the time being. I'm waiting on the adapter and 1.6GHz banias, and thats as far as my PM system is going to go till the dothans drop in price by alot.

    The Banias is a 400MHz FSB chip, what if I was to set the adapter to think it was a 533? would it give an overclock? Is there a way to physically mod the power that is run into the cpu? and what should I expect a banias 1.6GHz to overclock to? It'd be great if I could get an answer to all these, idk what you will say about that last Q though. Thx.
     
  23. FR@NK

    FR@NK

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    573 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    hehe i sold my 9800 pro right before i got my Pentium M system. Man that such a great card. 400MHz fsb just mean 100MHz quad piped, so your chip will be 16x100, where 16 is the multi and 100 is the fsb. Setting the jumpers on the adapter wont change the fsb, thos just control the internal PLL voltage. Setting it to 533 might lower your overclock i dunno you will have to test it out. as for the core voltage, that can be set in the bios all the way up to 1.6v i believe which is more then enough for air cooling.

    i'ld guess you should be able to get it up to around 2.0 GHz with a stock adapter, if your soldier skills are somewhat good you can easily mod the adapter by adding a trimmer or just a resistor and get around 2.8 or so which is the highest i've seen anyone get a Banias core.

    search for the Hipro5 mods on google to learn more about modding the adapter.

    i saw you had your ram up to 267Mhz, what timings is that?
     
  24. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    runs 2.5-4-4-7.. :) 6.5GB Bandwidth, heh..

    Ok, I'll take a look at that later. But I thought that you couldnt change the CT-479's voltage from other than stock. How would I change it? I'll fool with it when I get it.

    How could I mod an XP-90C to fit the CT-479? heh heh.. ;-)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page