1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1 stick works, 2 sticks dont

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by styler1972, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. styler1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys hopefully someone has some insight here. I just put together a new computer and it works, the only problem is the memory (which is good though) I couldnt install vista with 2 sticks of 1gb memory installed. I could only install it with 1. And it will only boot with 1 stick in. BUT vista is a huge memory hog and 1gb of memory isnt enough for the games i want to play i need 2gb. Whats my problem?

    I have supertalent 1gb memory sticks with a geforce 6100-gm mb and an AMD64 6100+ x2 processor.
  2. styler1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and by boot i mean boot to vista, the entire 2gb checks out in the memtest
  3. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Need more information, imcoplete specs won't help. What is the Mobo Model?
    gforce-6100 is not enough.

    :toast:
  4. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    try a bios update and this vista patch
    Remove 1 GB of physical memory BEFORE you try to install Windows Vista. When the installation is over, insert the extra RAM into the computer
    If Vista is already installed and you would like to install a patch for this bug, then you can install the available hotfixes from Microsoft, available in the following format
    x86 Vista
    x64 Vista
    More INFO
  5. styler1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its a geforce6100sm-m
  6. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Geforce 6100 is fine to run vista i had vista running on a geforce 4 :laugh:
  7. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    651 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    I am having this issue with a 6100 based board. Its a bane of my existance...i mean Gigabyte board:) 754 sempron rig xp pro based everything is fine with dimm0 but when i try two sticks of ram it wont boot at all...no bios/black screen no error beeps...i have the latest(read only) bios revision from the gigashite website and have tried several different ram sticks (single and double sided 266/333/400 256&512 modules ecc & non ecc), I also disabled the onboard graphics and attempted to run with a pci-e card(no memory allocated to graphics) and the only conclusion i could draw from the result is

    a)the board is faulty (all of my memory modules are testedand ok)
    b)it is a limitation of the memory controller on the semprom (obviosly not)
    c)it is a limitation of the 6100 chipset
    d)GIGASHITE!!!1111

    In the end 512mb is enough for my quiet little media bawx so i did not look into it further
    (and i sure as hell cannot be arsed chasing a gigacrap product around the web), I wish you all the luck with your install and will watch this thread with interest as i have expelled enough time and effort on the 6100 based system already.
    Cheers,
    Craig0
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2007
  8. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    think you meen nForce 4xx board with integrated graphics card GeForce 6100, and they are supported have you tried both sticks of ram alone to see if one faulty or it could be that your mb dosnt support your brand of ram in dual channel or 2 sticks of it, Try not dual channeling it.
  9. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    651 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page