1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1 x 8GB or 2 x 4GB

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Exodus, Jul 7, 2014.

?

What should I do?

  1. Get 2 x 4GB.

    34 vote(s)
    81.0%
  2. Get 1 x 8GB.

    8 vote(s)
    19.0%
  1. Exodus

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    67 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Okay thanks for all your help getting 2x4gb. DDR3 1600 or 1866hz? their is a 8$ dollars difference.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  2. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    1866mhz is faster. I doubt you will notice the difference. $8 isn't much so its up to you if you value the extra speed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,358 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    currently using 1x8gb and nope no big difference with my previous 2x4gb so next month i can go 2x8gb instead of being lockdown by 2x4gb +2x4gb ... let's say future proofing even if no games require more than 8gb atm (plus the 8gb single was priced lower than a 2x4gb same brand same specs :roll: )

    dual channel single channel triple channel quad channel : no "major" differences for gaming.
     
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,563 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    804
    2x4GB

    "What sounds like happened to you is the exception to the rule, not the rule." - Its commonly held, and for good reason, to not mix and match sticks as it can cause instability. Setting mismatched sticks to the slowest timings/speeds will minimize that problem, but without a doubt, that is not an exception, but a rule.
     
    xvi says thanks.
  5. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    472 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    I'd hardly say being stuck with 4x4GB 'lockdown', as you put it. As I said earlier, by the time people will need to go beyond 16GB for games, DDR4 would be prevalent. 2X8GB will allow you to go beyond 16GB, but how likely is it that anyone really would? Pointless for games and, apart from the very specialized uses, there is absolutely no need to (unless of course you have the finances to say "why the hell not?").
     
    EarthDog says thanks.
  6. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    496 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    Location:
    UK
    1866MHz will be faster if they both have the same CAS timings (i.e. both have CL9), but in reality you won't notice much difference between DDR3 1600MHz and 1866MHz in real world applications.

    Layton
     
    Folding for Team TPU
  7. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    I have noticed a slight difference in daily use, not gaming, between single channel and dual channel such as desktop responsiveness.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Qrizze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It depens on what you're doing. And if you plan to get 2x 4gb ram, but you're planning to add 2x 4gb more in the future, you should make sure your motherboard supports quad channel memory (= you may use 4x ram at the same time). Mostly if you're into video/picture editing, you'd like to have 16gb ram and if your mobo doesnt support quad channel, you cant use 4x 4gb to get total 16gb, so you must get 2x 8gb to get the 16. For gaming 8gb is enough.
    For MHz/speed I'd recommend to start from 1600. Check that the cas latency is 9 or 10, then you should be fine. :)
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,138 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    2133 CAS9 is the sweet spot it seems.
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,138 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Sorry for double post, but no. He doesn't need to have a quad channel motherboard (x79/2011) to run 4 sticks of memory. Even on lga1155/1150 its still running dual channel with 4 sticks. There are 2 seperate channels. A1/A2 and B1/B2. Running 4 sticks on socket 1150 is a little bit quicker than 2 it seems though.
     
    rtwjunkie and Qrizze say thanks.
  11. Qrizze New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh okay. didnt know that. sorry and thanks :toast:
     
  12. Exodus

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    67 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for your help guys and sorry late answer. I haven't bought my rig yet because the H220X isn't available yet and while checking reviews to kill time, I discovered you could overclock memory too. Why should I pay more to get a DDR3 1866 MHZ or a DDR3 2133 MHz stick when I can just overclock a cheaper DDR3 1333 mhz one. Does the higher base clock speed stick overclock better? And is there any utility in
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,138 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    A 1333mhz kit is likely not binned as well so you probably won't hit the same clocks as one that is rated for said higher speed. Go with a 2133mhz kit. Its the sweet spot like I've said many times.
     
    GhostRyder and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,479 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    I agree with MxPhenom. 2133 is going to get you somewhere vs 1333
     
  15. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,395 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Texas
    I agree as well, 2133 kit as cas 9 is the best point at the moment for DDR3.
     
  16. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,563 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    804
    Maybe... Cough samsung low profs... COUGH. :p

    Generally that may be right, but also consider that 1333 sticks at 1.35v could easily reach 1866/2133 at 1.5/1.65v or even the 1.5v could get there at 1.65v. ;)

    That said,1866/2133 CL9 FTW. No reason to play games with less, no reason to pay more for nothing!
     
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    Read this to see what kind of real world benefits you can see from faster ram.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Exodus

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Messages:
    67 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    When overcloking the CPU, does the speed of the memory is working makes a differences?

    And okay I'll try to get at least 1866 mhz.
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,138 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,328
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    When overclocking the CPU, I try to drop the memory clock to whatever the BIOS wants to set to by default/auto so usually 1333mhz to take any memory instability out of the equation when trying to find a stable overclock. When I do find a stable CPU clock, and enable XMP or whatever the memory should be set too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page