1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1 year old computer

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by OSMAN, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey all i only have about 250 bucks to spend. here is my current rig.

    Monitor: Acer AL1706 Flat Screen LCD 1280x1204 res
    Processor: Pentium D 840 @ 3.20GHZ 800MHZ FSB
    Mobo: Abit SG-80DC
    Ram: 2GB DDR1 400mhz PC3200 SDRAM
    Hard drive 1: 160GB SamSung 7200rpm IDE
    Hard drive 2: 250GB Samsung 7200rpm IDE
    PSU: 400 watt PSU(not sure what kind)
    Video: Leaktek 6800 Non-Ultra @ stock speeds using 169.01
    Mouse: Microsoft wireless
    Keyboard: Microsoft Wireless
    Mouse pad: max payne (old one)
    10mbit DSL connection
    Printer: Canon IP 5000
    case: mind case with a see through fan
    cd-drive one: Sony DVD-RW DRU-800A
    cd-drive two: Lite- on DVD-RW SHW-160P6S
    Speakers: Labtec 4 surround sound
    Sound card: onboard sound
    OS: Windows Vista SP1 V.275 32-bit

    now i was just thinking of getting a new video card, but what card would go with that system? would going to 64-bit windows OS also be good?
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    first off, welcome to the forums :)

    what are you looking to improve about the system? gaming? and why are you looking at a 64 bit os?
  3. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    if your CPU isn't 64-bit, then you can't use a 64-bit OS.

    I don't know if the Pentium D 840's are 64-bit
  4. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i heard that 64 bit OS is much better, i want to improve gaming, to make the system last a least another year.
  5. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i think he should upgrade to a c2d, do you oc osman?
  6. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    don't have the money to upgrade to a new motherboard and cpu :(
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you get a slight performance increase, but some issues with small programs not running and drivers. i say its not worth the money to upgrade to a 64bit os-- you'll get a lot more performance from improving hardware then upgrading to 64bit
  8. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i can get the 64 bit OS for free from my brothers company
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    250 bucks is almost enough to get a quad core, your mobo is lga775 right? it should be able to do a nice c2d e4300(100 bucks) with no problem.
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    well then whats their to ask about it lol, some driver issues and small programs, but its getting better and it boots a lot faster and stuff. i would grab it if i could get it free.
  11. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oops forgot i'm Canadian not American.
  12. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    You might have to save up and spend a little more. Your Mobo is dated and can't realy handle a good CPU,DDR2 or high FSB.(800 max)

    :toast:
  13. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Your best upgrade would be a new videocard. Is that PCI-E or AGP?

    X1950pro is a good option for AGP. 8800GT for PCI-E.
  14. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    hmm yeah. he needs a new mobo cpu, etc.
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2007
  17. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
  18. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    IS your cpu a 64 bit cpu?

    if it isn't, XP Pro 64bit won't work
  19. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ya works with 64 bit OS
  20. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    get a new video card
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. OSMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what AGP card is good for nvidia ?
  22. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    No, it's AGP. Also, does not support C2D.
  23. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    i think nvidia left back agp, if you want a better video card, you're going to have to get hte x1950pro agp, its the best agp video card out atm, correct me if im wrong
  24. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    x1950 pro has my vote too. It will give you the biggest gains.
  25. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I noticed that after, that setup is a full mainboard, processor, ram and video card for like $260...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page