1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

10.3 preview release overclocked my 5870 and 5970 without notice

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by twistedneck, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. twistedneck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    i could not figure out why my brand new LOCKED 5870 somehow got overclocked after installing the 10.3 press release driver. it upped to 965 / 1350 if i recall. it rain fine actually, stayed very cool under 60C.. to fix i just downclocked it and bck to normal. THEN..

    My new 5970 arrived. so i put 10.3 press release driver on that too. i could not figure out why it was running so hot (up to 76C in extended battlefield on all maxed out settings).. the netxt day after heavy gaming, i noticed a flicker on all of the gun textures, almost iike my board was f'd up - change res it went away, then changed back to 1920x1200 and it was gone - wheew.. so then i looked and the clock was at 850 / 1200.. and that is pretty high for a 5970. and i would have NEVER touched the clock on my brand new board. that fucking preview driver!
     
  2. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    i understand, everytime i send an im my card goes up 10mhz and after about 20 minutes of chattin I have to reset my video card but its cool cuz while im playing games i minimize my im so whenever someone im's me I get a little performance boost.

    do you know why the drivers are causing the clocks?
     
  3. twistedneck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Interesting, did you ever see it go more than 10,20?.. maybe it was a gradual rise over time because i looked right when i installed them and it wasn't over clocked.. this was a week later. they must creep up slightly when ever the feel like it. turned the fan on fixed mode for the 5970. at 42% fan it stays under 60C at max load. and its quiet. but this f'n driver may take it to 1000 / 1400 and then my fan will not speed up and save it. :eek:
     
  4. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Why not revert to 10.2 drivers?
     
  5. twistedneck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Oh because the 10.3 run quite a bit faster than 10.2 - at the same clock.
     
  6. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I thought I had read that the 10.3 were the same as 10.2 minus the small things they added aka the preview stuff.
     
  7. twistedneck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    i am goning by my own benchmarks and game fps across 3 different games. avp, crysis wars, bfbc2. not sure about the technical details of the release but i did read others found the same. but the clock creep is scary.
     
  8. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I'm not sure what games it would really matter in right now? 5870 and 5970 are both overkill for most modern games.
     
  9. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    its not overkill. I play BC2 and it still has it's slow downs with everything maxed out. sometimes when there is HEAVY action I drop into the low 50's.

    HBAO and 8x/16 aa/af can be taxing @ 1920x1080
     
  10. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    What you're seeing is a big frame drop from something way up to 50 which is still high turn vsync on and you probably won't see any of that. Rig I just built for a friend single 5850 1920x1200 and it runs beautifully on that max all.
     
  11. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Too bad, vsync in this game is broken :shadedshu
     
  12. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    It's not actually it just disables itself. You can force it in catalyst to be on always.
     
  13. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,754 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    vsync is broken at the driver level ;P
    heck source games go mad when its enabled :O
     
  14. shevanel

    shevanel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,479 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    406
    Location:
    Leesburg, FL
    you have to change res from native to non then back to activate vsync in bc2
     
  15. rflair New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Can we see some GPU-Z pics with CCC Overdrive tab side by side of this?
     
  16. twistedneck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    Hmm.. i alrady fixed it so i can show you my current GPU-Z and CCC but i'm not sure that would help clarify the issue. i was so shocked that my brand new 5970 was over clocked i immediately fixed it w/o thought to taking screens. I am learning.
     
  17. bobzilla2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    source games jump around like crazy :( i hope amd sort vsync at some point, but i can't say it bothers me much (apart from on dirt 2 when moving around the menus! argh the tearing!)
     
  18. runnin17

    runnin17

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    386 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Don't mind me, I'm an idiot....
     
  19. 3link New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    35 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I have 10.3 as well, but it doesn't give the option to OC to 965. Maybe I dled from a bad link. Could you give me the link you used?

    Thanks,
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,923 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,213
    use D3D overrider that comes with rivatuner. solves all AMD's Vsync issues.
     
  21. twistedneck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    just look up 10.3 press release drivers and you will find it. there are still a lot of copies out there.
     
  22. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,113 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Maybe this is what AMD were talking about when they said that the CCC 10.3 drivers are going to have a good performance boost, the driver slowly overclocks your card without warning and blows up in your face :laugh:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page