1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$1000 gaming build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Lalindo, May 31, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  2. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    The reviews I saw were that the 720 at stock matches or bests an oc'ed 550 granted I only read 2 reviews. And it will bottleneck a gpu less, you're really better off with more than two cores on a phenom, unless your not doing anything cpu intensive.
  3. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    the 550 are dual cores and the 720be are tri cores

    so the extra core should be better
    3>2

    thats why the 550 can oc higher since its only 2 cores

    i would keep the 720be or upgrade to the next thing 940 for am2+ boards or 955 for am3+ boards
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    What I say was that that dual-core was a bit more powerful core for core, but all around, 720BE is better except in single threaded apps... with dual thread apps + background stuff, the tri-core is better...

    I'm not sure if I heard this from someone else or a review though... I'd go with a tri core to be safe
  5. Lalindo New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do I want AM3 for the 720?
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    if you mean AM3 board yes you do...
  7. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    I find it hard to believe when they use the same chip just with disabled cores that one is going to be faster core for core.


    I'd recommend it just for future upgrade path if AMD decides to make AM3 chips with only DDR3 controllers. Or if allow AM3 chips to work in the next socket.
  8. Lalindo New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay good because my board is AM3. Just wanted to make sure
  9. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  10. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    No need for OS just use windows 7 when its starts shutting down you buy it or else, i already sold my vista copy
  11. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just got a 720 BE can't wait to OC it.
  12. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Look back at the review of the 720 here and you'll see that even at 3.7ghz, it beats it in those synthetic tests. Minus the single threaded Apophysis. Clock for clock on single threaded apps, they will be very similar. But on multi-threaded apps, the 720 will obviously take a step ahead of the 550.

    Also noting that WinRAR isn't truly using more than two cores. Compressing a file I get cpu usage of ~70% with 3 cores or with 4th core unlocked only ~55% fluctuating.

    I'm not saying that the 550 isn't a great chip from the looks of it, but I'll take my 720be over it any day, especially if I need more processing power I just bump up voltages a bit and bump up to 4ghz, I just don't feel comfortable running the voltage necessary to keep it stable at 4 ghz.
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  13. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Not to mention it will be better for the future... even for now! many games use at least 2 cores... which means that all the other background stuff is on the 3rd core

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page