1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1055t Running hot.

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Iceni, Sep 10, 2012.

  1. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    Hey,

    I'm normally pretty much on the ball about this stuff but i think somewhere along my sons build something has gone wrong.

    He has a 1055T on stock cooling, However It's running at almost 50 degrees C on the bios screen. (C&Q on). [C&Q off with full speed fan this drops to 50 degrees C loaded].


    The first question is: Is there a difference in the thermal properties of the 1055t stock cooler and the X4 955 BE. The 1055t was originally in another machine, and we had to swap it over to this one. However I think the heat sinks have not been swapped.

    The second question is in regard to AMD's CPU speed management. Should I be seeing a CPU speed drop on the desktop the same as the i5. ATM the CPU is locked at 2.8Ghz on desktop and does not dip to a power save feature. If I should be seeing this then I think I have a tinkering son :D Don't know if I should praise him for attempting to tweak his bios or berate him from moving from stock, lol!



    As for general questions in regards to what people will ask first.

    The TIM is new and the HSF reseated, twice.
    The HSF is clean, no dust.
    The fan is working. However I have disabled C&Q in favour of a more aggressive fan speed until I can work out where the problem has originated from.
    The PC has been working without fault for almost 1 year. I'm unsure why it would suddenly start to spike temps.

    Another thing that may be causing the problem is the HSF itself. Has anyone ever seen a report of the heat pipes failing, Or the alu fins coming detached with age and reducing the thermal capabilities of the HSF.


    I'm going to go pick up a meatier HSF at the weekend i think, Perhaps see if I can get a deal on a Hyper 212, Or something similar. I think it's better to be proactive in this situation.
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,926 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,503
    1. Whats your ambient temp?
    2. Did you reset the CMOS?
    3. What does something like CoreTemp say?
    4. Did you mess with the voltages lately?
    5. YES heat pipes do degrade over time.
  3. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    1. UK temps it's summer so 10-25 degrees C. ATM probably 21 in the house.

    2. No I haven't yet. I had a quick look through to see if he's been playing with any of the options, But most if not all were on auto. I've not used or overclocked on an AMD system. So a few of the features look new to me. (currently reading the overclocking guides to see if i can find anything out).

    3. Coretemp with the fan on 100% is showing a current temp of 48 degrees C. That's with him playing a single threaded HL2 clone game.

    4. First thing I checked all voltages were on auto. Currently it's Skipping between 1.28V and 1.31V With a core speed of 2812.53Mhz. Interestingly it does not appear to have turbo on.
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,926 (7.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,503
    Reset the CMOS and see if that fixes your issue. Also do you have a spare heat sink?
  5. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    I'll do that tomorrow while he's at school. I don't have a spare HSF that will fit, I have at least 3 s939 heat sinks kicking about but would not be willing to bodge the fittings. I'll go grab a new HSF and see if it fixes it. For the sake of £20 I should have done it when it was built.

    I live within walking distance of a pretty large computer warehouse so they should have something that will work. If the heat sink is not at fault then nothing has been lost there as I have little faith in stock cooling at the best of times.


    The last time I did a Full rebuild on his system there was a lot of cat fur in the HSF. Making a matt under the fan (his pc sits on the carpet, and the cats like the warmth). So it may be possible that the heat problem has cooked the heat pipes over time. He's been complaining of random crashes now for a bit, And me been the good father I am told him to attempt to isolate the problem and come back to me with a fix :D

    While people will probably berate me for leaving it so long, my son is 15, and I am a firm believer in him sorting or at least identifying a problem with his machine. The machine is after all his. He needs to learn PC maintenance if he wants to run a gaming machine when he leaves home.

    I'll probably also make him fit the new HSF and reset his own bios. In the long run it means less phone calls for me when he leaves home!!! I have a plan :D
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,584 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,979
    Just remember to use the thermal paste! :D
    Iceni says thanks.
  7. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    LOL TY :D

    I'll remember than one Erocker.

    In all fairness the heat pipes are roasting at 50 degrees C. I'm pretty confident the TIM is not at fault on this one.
  8. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,471 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,967
    If you're going to pick up a cheap cooler from a local vendor, see if they have an Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 (rev.2). This one is easy to install and should have no problem keeping a 1055T cooler than the stock unit.

    Installation takes less than 5 minutes and a phillips screwdriver and you don't need to remove the motherboard to install it :)

    Is the 1055T the 95w or the 125w model?
    Iceni and OneMoar say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    I'll look into that one, This is the place I will go to grab the HSF, It's only a short walk for me.

    http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/products.aspx?cat=9&subcat=12&brand=0

    Going to put a budget of £23 on the HSF. Should be able to get something reasonable for that.


    No idea about the TDP of the CPU. i didn't even know that 2 variants existed! I would like to think it would be the 95W variant since the cpu is only about 18 months old. However I think we should work under the assumption it's the 125W core just to be safe.
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2012
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,026 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    50c is fine ignore it
    heat-pipes can fail if they develop a hole
    that said 50c is fine ignore it don't worrie until you get up to 70c
  11. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,471 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,967
    Here's the cooler:

    http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/product.aspx?code=HFA-F7PV2

    Within that budget and enough enough left over to stop for a pint if you enjoy that sort of thing. :toast:

    *EDIT- I believe the 125w version would have come with a heatpipe cooler and the 95w with a plain finned aluminum one... write down the part# when you swap coolers for future reference ;) *
    Iceni says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,829 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,364
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hell Mine with a hyper 212+ is running around 47c under load. So you at 50c with the stock cooler is fine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    C&Q isnt active in the BIOS. test in windows.
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,829 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,364
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Hell I have C&Q disabled. Mine also runs at 100% load 24/7.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    you might want to check the power/performance profile the system is set to in windows. He may have set it for max performance, therefor no cpu throttle. Kinda like on xp when you set the laptop to "home/office desk" to keep the cpu at max speed. there's a similar setting in win7... you can even go to advanced options and specify settings for cpu speed. I'll have to look it up when i get back on my win7 rig... using my old thinkpad atm.
  16. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    you missed the OP where i stated 50c for idle in bios! no load at all.

    I got him the freezer 7 today and he fitted it. Temps have dropped to 35c idle, and 61c after 30 mins of prime 95. I think it should be fine :D

    It is also the 125W model.

    TY for everyone that helped.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2012
  17. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,471 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,967
    Good Deal! :toast:

    Pretty easy to install?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    The BIOS temps are always higher than Windows.

    Maximum temperature for Thuban chips is 62C, so I think your fine.
  19. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    Yeah was real easy. Just 2 screws. It took only slightly longer than a stock cooler to fit. And I didn't have to mess about with bolts ect like on the intel type fittings.
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,125 (11.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,461
    the BIOS *does* 'load' it. none of the power saving features work, so its definitely not at idle.
    OneMoar says thanks.
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,026 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    669
    Location:
    Rochester area
    that and the bios puts a load on the cpu because everything is running wide open
    and most bios's tend the load the cpu from anyware from 30% to 70% more if its a EFI bios
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,221 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Did he specify the mobo he has
  23. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    coventry UK
    It's an award bios.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page