1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1090t & i7 2600k Temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Zaspera, Oct 15, 2011.

  1. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    I just replaced my 1090t with a 2600k and I recorded the temp differences pre-i7 and post-i7. With the 1090t my cores were all running at 24°C and the CPU was running 37. With the 2600k, all 4 cores are different (31,36,34,35), but the CPU is running 36°C. I'm using a brand new Corsair H80 with the i7. The 1090t was running with an H70. Is this a good temp for the i7? It's running 3.6GHz right now. Is it normal for all 4 cores to measure differently?
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,384 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    thats fine. my 2500k@4.9Ghz idles at 30-35'c
  3. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Finland
    Youre temps are just fine. AMD chips do run alot cooler than intels.
    The max temp stated by AMD for the 1090T is ~60 and for the intel 2600k ~75
  4. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    Good to know. I've never used Intel until tonight. Also, is the 4 different core temps normal?
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,384 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,185
    Their all normal
  6. John Doe Guest

    Yes, you won't see AMD kinda low temps on Intel. They have higher temp tolerances. One more thing is core temp differences. They can get stuck, and software is not reliable anyway.
  7. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    450 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Finland
    Now get to overclocking :cool:
  8. Zaspera New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    500 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Mapleville, RI
    I'm already at 4.2GHz. Passed the Intel Burn Test and now using PCMARK7 to compare this setup to my 1090t that was at 4GHz.
  9. kg4icg

    kg4icg

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    102 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Herndon,Va
    I7-2600k max temp is 98'C, not 75'C. I have a H100 on mine running 24/7 folding at 4.2ghz and my max temp hasn't gone over 59'C according to coretemp.
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,286 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    if u use programs that uses HyperThreading (HT) than i7-2600kr is faster bcs it got 8threads even 6 real cores shouldn't be bad either, but overall i7-2600k is faster i think even if u disable HT.

    i choose the i5-2500k bcs in games u don't feel that much difference and in most of them non bcs they don't support HT, and i don't use heavy programs anymore for convertions or something anymore :/

    i am running 4378mhz on my 24-7 on air ^^;

    i don't got any fancy prebuild or home build watercooling.
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,061 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    869
    ^
    Also the i5 2500K has 6MB L3 cache, whereas the i7 2600K has 8MB L3 cache.
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,286 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    still u should see the vs tests in games same fps ;)
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    amd chips are a lot cooler than intels, so its consdered the other way round by some people.
  14. John Doe Guest

    Cache is not a determining factor as it plays little role in performance nowadays. It is the architecture that matters. More cache will only result in minor performance gains. It was somewhat useful back when we had Celerons and Pentiums, not much anymore. A Paxville Xeon 7000 (based on P4/Nutburst) has 16 MB of L3, that does not make it faster than an E8500 with 6 MB L2.
  15. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    max temp before damage for 1090T is really 95-100 degrees as reported by an AMD rep.
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I've got a 1090T at 4.2 and have never gone higher than 41c on air. AMD chips are just cooler than intel. :cool:
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    Source?

    Because I've seen Phenom chips have voltage degradation problems when running over 60c.

    ( as in they need more volts for the same clocks)
  18. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    AMD chips definitely need more voltage for the same clocks as intel, but stay cooler. I have to have 1.635v to get to 4.3 :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Okay you'll be getting voltage degradation from running to many volts through the chip :laugh:


    What sort of temps do you get with that ( remember to add 10-12 degrees to temps because the probes jib out when the cpu is overclocked)
  20. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,497 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    930
    Do they really stay cooler? I thought their sensors just sucked ass and where in a funny location. Kinda like their funky way of measuring TDP.
  21. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz


    Those voltages were only temporary, just long enough to stress test for a while. And even adding 10-12 degrees, thats only 51-53c
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  22. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Ahh I thought you were running that 24/7 :laugh:


    I've seen a lot of people on these forum aim straight for a big overclock and just put silly amounts of volts through without even trying to see how far they get on stock voltages.

    Has to be said, that Noctua cooler is an impressive piece of kit if those were your temps :toast:

    I get 46c with prime 95 @3.64ghz* so I was expecting closer to 60 with that amount of voltage XD

    Or do temperatures not go up much with extra voltage?



    *Need an extra 0.150v for 4ghz the speed boost isn't worth the voltage increase + I have turbo enabled still so get 4030mhz on 3 cores when needed anyway : ]
  23. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    441
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    My max temps only change about 3c from stock to 4.3, I am forever a Noctua fan.

    Is your 1055t a Black Edition?
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU Folding for Team TPU
  24. Covert_Death

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    308 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    may i just ask how you all are getting such low Idle temps??????? im running a PII x4 955 with an H60 closed loop cooler, my idles are 34*C (stock clocks) and around 37*C(ocd to 4.1Ghz) why are my temps so high! they have always been this hi at idle, my apartment is 75*F all day long and my case has great circulation
  25. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    If you use offset for vcore in overclocking vs. a set vcore then you'll idle cooler and use overall less juice but yes the 4 cores tend to vary a little even by 9 degrees...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page