1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$1100-$1400 to build / buy a computer

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Reynardin, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ah damn. having trouble figuring out where to plug everything in lol >.<
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Read your manuals, your motherboard manual especially for what goes where, and take your time, if you miss something somewhere you probably won't post, and you'll have to go back searching for what went wrong. Better to do it right the first go-round.
  3. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    yea, i just found the manual buried under everything else.. I was wondering where I put that thing lol. I'm having trouble figuring out where to plug in my case's LEDs though. Do you have any suggestions on what I should look for?
  4. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    There'll be a series of 9 or so pins near the bottom or right side of the mb where the case wires plug into, including the led's and power switch and the like. The writing can be kind of small, there should be a clear layout in the mb manual though.
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2008
    Reynardin says thanks.
  5. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hm, k
    actually , it just says "front panel", not much help really.
  6. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok, I got two small "plugs" which say "+ p led" and "- p led". i got 3 sockets labeled "pwr-led", do they go in there or something?
  7. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    anyone got some advice?
  8. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    wait nvm, i got it... now i gotta figure out how to fit my dvd drive..
  9. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok, this can't be good. when I press the power button, immediatly, a very high pitched beep starts coming from my computer.
  10. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Did you connect the 6-pin power cable to the gpu?
    Reynardin says thanks.
  11. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    6-pin? uh... would that do it?
  12. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    The power connector that goes into the 8800 gts. It has 6 pins. If that is not connected your vc will not function and the mb will provide that nice friendly warning that it is not receiving adaquate power.
    Reynardin says thanks.
  13. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    OH. found it. thanks =D that fixed it. now to find my monitor's power cable..
  14. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Almost there.....
  15. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok, lets see, gpu, mobo, dvddrive, all plugged in correctly i think
    do those 8 pins on my hdd need to be plugged into anything?
  16. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I'm not sure what your referring to. As long as it has power via the 4-pin molex, or the sata power connector, and is connected to your mb via sata port, your hdd is good to go.
    Reynardin says thanks.
  17. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    kk, good to go then
  18. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    WOO system booted up, is installing vista now =) I guess i'll sort out hte mess of cables later
  19. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Hell yeah congratz. Yeah, just get everything up and running, then you can tweak to your heart's content. :toast:
    Reynardin says thanks.
  20. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Still gotta install the OS lol..
  21. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I hope the CPU is gonna be OK.. I may have placed the cpu cooling on it in an... original way involving lots of wiggling.
  22. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    What do you mean? You followed the steps for proper thermal paste application? Is that hs one of the twist pin ones, cause those are tricky, gotta make sure if you pull on it nothing comes out. Check your cpu temp in the BIOS.
    Reynardin says thanks.
  23. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    im gonna do that (check the temp).
    its a bit loose, is that normal with the cpu cooler I have? i mean, its pretty tall so it would be hard to make it stable
  24. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    btw, is it normal for the screen to stay at the background after that windows loading bar? for first time running vista?
  25. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    It should have a little give in rotation, like twisting a few degrees right or left, but if you pull on it (gently of course) it should try to bring the mb w/ it, and no pins should pop out.
    Reynardin says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page