1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$1100-$1400 to build / buy a computer

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Reynardin, Jun 13, 2008.

  1. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Is it done installing? It's the same background for a bit while it's being installed.
    Reynardin says thanks.
  2. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ah, its ok then =)
  3. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    uh, nvm , its back to the right track, must have been reading from the disk.
  4. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok so, ive got like a dozen extra cables coming from my PSU. should I tuck them away somewhere and forget about them?
  5. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    I tuck em in my extra 5.25 bays.
    Reynardin says thanks.
  6. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ah, I was thinking of doing that.
    On another note, the 22" display I bought for the new computer makes my laptop's 15" cry... lol
  7. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    hm for some reason its detecting a generic, horrible graphics card instead of the 8800gts that I have installed.. what gives?
  8. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    oh, could it be the drivers?
  9. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    all right, everything working fine, i'm off to bed now =)
  10. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    WOO! works like a charm! Bit loud, but its the 8800gts. is that normal?

    I'm gonna download steam and try this machine out =D
  11. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    what program can i use to check my CPU's temp / speed and my GPU's temp / speed while not in BIOS?
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    this is a nice little program by the people who make cpuz

    Attached Files:

    Reynardin says thanks.
  13. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Reynardin says thanks.
  14. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    thanks guys
  15. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so, anything on the 8800gts being loud?
  16. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so how is 37 c. for a core temp?
  17. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    download prime leave your computer on when you go to bed, run a loop of prime for 12-24 hours. than check :)

    - Christine
    Reynardin says thanks.
  18. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok =)

    Problem is, I'll probably have a bit of trouble falling asleep because my gpu is so loud...
  19. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    25% into downloading Mass Effect... I can't wait >.<
  20. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    wprime will stress both cores of your processor with intense calculations which will cause the temp of your processor to rise and will speed up the curing process for your TIM.

    if you replace the eVGA Stock Cooler with a new one like an Accelero S1 you probably won't be able to step up.

    - Christine
    Reynardin says thanks.
  21. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    so, the loud fan is how it normally is? that's what I want to know.
  22. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    oh I don't know. use Riva Tuner or SpeedFan and turn it down or see what Temp it is you can create a fan profile. it may be stuck or just loud.

    - Christine
    Reynardin says thanks.
  23. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Rivatuner allows you to control the fan speed. It is a bit loud when running adaquately. I usually run it at 90-100% when gaming, leave it on 60% or so the rest of the time. It usually defaults on like 27%, which will cause your gpu to overheat when gaming. Like Christine said, you could get a passive colling solution which would alliviate the noise problem. If you do want to do step up, if you put the old cooler back on evga will still accept the step-up.

    As far as prime goes, you can definately use it to test max temps and stability, but honestly it works your proc more than you ever will in normal circumstances, so I don't really ever worry about it. I just run it for a bit if I'm not sure if my oc is stable. The stress it puts on the cpu is not really worth pulling an all-nighter to me, as it just wears down the proc more than it would normally.
    Reynardin says thanks.
  24. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok, so im in rivatuner, how do i change the fan speed? it sounds like it defaulted to 100% ...
  25. Reynardin New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok, question: in steam, how do I change where steam looks for the games? for some reason, it looks in "C:/Program files" instead of "C:/Program Files (x86)" where it should look.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page