1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1200w for tri HD7970 ?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by babouk100, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. babouk100

    babouk100

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Reunion Island
    Hi, :)
    First, sorry if my english is not correct, I'm french and not very good with the Shakespeare language.

    My computer:
    Case: Xilence Interceptor Pro
    MB: MSI Big Bang XPower 2
    CPU: i7-3930k @ 4.7GHz with Corsair H80
    GPU: SLI MSI N560GTX-Ti TF3 PE (to change -->2x or 3x HD7970)
    RAM: 8x4Go G.Skill Ares 1866MHz
    Power Supply: Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200w
    SSD: Intel 520Series 180Go
    HDD: Seagate Barracuda 2To

    [​IMG]

    I want to change my graphic cards and watercool cpu/gpu.

    [​IMG]

    Now, I explain my problem.
    #1: I wonder if my Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200W will be enough to feed three HD7970 graphics card with the rest of my components?

    #2: If three cards is possible, is a thermochill TA120.4 be sufficient to cool the 3 cards or just 2 cards? (I'll use a Thermochill TA 120.3 for the cpu
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    whats the voltages of the CPU, NB, Ram, whats your video cards overclocked too currently?
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    If you can afford all that, you can afford a nice Platinum rated 1500w PSU. Just my two cents.
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    1200w is more than fine for your setup, you don't need a 1500w power supply.

    I ran an heavily overclocked 980x with a couple of HD 6990s and I never had any issue.

    Also as a rule of thumb just assume you are going to need atleast 180mm of radiator surface per GPU, that is the minimum I'd use for each :)
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    if a case is big enough i say why not run a second PSU with this adapter used

    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1698/1/
  6. babouk100

    babouk100

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    108 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Reunion Island
    Voltages:
    [​IMG]

    videocards not o/c

    Maybe later. If not posible for 3 cards, I'll bought later the third card with a platinum 1500w.



    Why not. I can find enough space to put a second PSU.
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Because it makes no sense? I use a small PSU just for the watercooling stuff though so that subsystem is always up even when my PC is shut off.
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,213 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    IIRC it gives an off command for the WC setup so if power to the main PSU is cut it should cut power to the secondary
  9. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Pumps are better off running 24/7 afaik, we are derailing this thread though :p
  10. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    If you need any lose numbers, my system chews 1016 max from the wall during Heaven 3.0.

    I7 2700k @ 4900 1.42v
    2x 7970 @ 1200/1625

    with all the other stuff, 3 hdds, water pump, 10 fans(120mm), optical drive, 2 cold cathodes and fan controller

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page