1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

12V at 11.71V

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by lordjohn, May 28, 2012.

  1. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    this system as follows:

    i3 2100
    ga67a
    1333 4gbx2, 2gbx2.
    gf460 1g
    7200rmp 1gb

    3 case fan

    I have some power problem, i used a evergreen(a japan brand) 425w psu on it, at max load in crysis2 12v drop from 12.1 to 11.71to 11.79 recorded from ET6. then I put a kiean 450w psu on it, max load of 12v drop from 12.2 to 11.6 from ET6. then I put a coolermaster 500w psu on it, max load of 12v drop from 11.95 to 11.5 recorded from ET6.

    i know software dose not have a accurate reading but how come bigger psu have a lower 12v at maxload of the gf460 card.

    I think 425w is not enough for this system, but how come 425w has a lower drop than 500w psu.:confused:
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    for 1, Software measurements cannot be used full stop. your mesurements are useless at best.

    for 2, there is no problem here, the drops are within Tolerance. +/- 5% or 11.4v to 12.6v.



    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/insidethepc/a/power-supply-voltage-tolerance.htm



    that system could run on a 350watt psu just fine. hell, you might even get away with a 250...

    your GFX card only peaks upto 140watts during normal gaming.... your CPU will use considerably less, all other components use considerably less power.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2012
    lordjohn says thanks.
  3. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    and 425 is more then enough for a i3 and a 460
    wattage is not relevant to the quality of the psu personally id use the cooler master psu
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Need to correct you. At stock, they MAX 140W. Vsync the card and you're probly looking at ~ 100W.
     
  5. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks


    thanks, but according to this site 460 at maxload goes to 270w
    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/graphics/2010/07/12/nvidia-geforce-gtx-460-graphics-card-review/11
    if that site is correct, is my psu enough?
     
  6. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    [​IMG]
    Also on a power hungry CPU that consumes about twice as much power.

    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2011/07/01/intel-core-i3-2100-review/7
    In the above review you can comprmise that a 980X would consume just as much power as their 965 @ 3.3Ghz.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2012
  8. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks

    I still wonder if running at 11.71 when maxload on gf460, will this low 11.71 kill my HDD for a long run? I remember HDD may damage mostly due to power problem.

    still wonder when using a coolmaster 500w, 360w on 12v load, why max load of 12v is at 11.5v, so a coolmaster 500w is worse than a evergreen 425w
     
  9. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    NO ITS FINE THE SENSOR IS NOT EVEN CLOSE TO BEING ACCURATE -.- :banghead:
    If you wanna get paranoic test it with a mulimeter
     
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    My Enermax Noisetaker 600w would always display less than 12v and it ran for at least 4 years.
     
  11. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    That is FULL LOAD on this setup:
    [​IMG]

    In theorhetical terms; [​IMG]
    270W minus difference of procs is now an astonishing 129W game load. Which cannot be correct as they may be using a more efficient psu so even if we give it the benefit of doubt you would still be at 200W gaming load with ~ 220W peak with an SSD. Hard drives don't take that much power, also will be using a board that doesn't need as much power to run either.
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2012
    lordjohn says thanks.
  13. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    168 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    one more question

    if I consider cross two 6850, how much power do i need
     
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,407 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    890
    Location:
    London, UK
    600-700Watts of a decent brand should be fine
     
    JrRacinFan and lordjohn say thanks.
  15. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Even if psu gives 11.6V which is enough as some one said earlier the only true way is to test with oscilloscope to measure the ripples - power fluctuations. My point being PSU with 11.6V with 1% ripples would be much better than 12V PSU with 4% variations IMO. Buying confirmed brands helps in that point and is always good idea to have some safety room so extra Watts doesn`t hurt.
     
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7,358 (6.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,802
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You could really find out and just spend a little money for a kill-a-watt.
     
  17. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I'll tell you something about electricity in general, if it is below its standard voltage, but still runs correctly, its fine.

    Why is this thread still going?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page