1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$1500+ well spent...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Evolved, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This is just a follow up thread from my previous one, about $1500+ wasted...

    PC is working SO GOOD NOW!

    Guess what? It wasn't the RAM! or the Mobo, or CPU, or PSU!

    All it needed was a fresh RE-INSTALL of Windows 7!

    So for those of you who were involved with my troublesome endeavors, this thread is just to let you know the conclusion to all of this.

    Love my new system!

    EDIT:

    Only thing is my RAM still reads 1333Mhz, instead of 1600Mhz.

    I don't know how to change it yet with this board.
     
    Millennium, Frick, qubit and 1 other person say thanks.
  2. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    A bad install of windows 7 could very easily = a failing HD.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  3. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Thanks for the update!
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  4. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    I had a feeling it was OS related.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,624 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Rochester area
    inb4random memory corruption
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  6. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,761 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Good for you mate! :toast:

    Just a thought, have you tried enabling the XMP profile for your RAM in the BIOS? I'm pretty sure all Vengeance sets are XMP compatible, and doing so should max your RAM clock at the best timings and voltage settings...

    Hope that helps. :)
     
    Evolved says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Glad to know it's working dude and thanks for the update. :toast:

    However, please note that ShiBDiB could well be right about a possibly failing hard drive. You should definitely run tests on that HD - and be absolutely sure to keep up-to-date backups of your data. ;)

    Use the test software from the hard drive manufacture's website as a starting point.

    EDIT: I just wanna add that with any PC that played up as badly as this one, you should still check the hardware thoroughly - and that includes memtest. Now that it's stable, you should also ensure that you have the latest BIOS installed. Remember what I said about lots of RAM and updated BIOSes previously? This needs to be done whether or not the PC seems to be working fine now or not.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  8. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I'm always right.. id bet money he has instability by the end of the week and its the hd. Its very hard for a windows install to corrupt without some kind of hardware problem or without the user screwing it up
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Yeah, I reckon the PC will fall over again soon, too. Hardware tests now are mandatory.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814 (4.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,076
    i always knew it was your install. but the thread got closed before i had time.
    i had a similar situation with the last AMD build i did a couple of weeks ago.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  11. 8800GS384 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have used win7 for 2years .not bed as a good system
     
  12. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    kept my PC on for 8 hours downloading 10 games off steam and installing a bunch of stuff and also ran prime 95.

    seems quite stable. no crash or anything.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    That's what we like to hear. Now, will you do those HD and memtest checks? You need to for confidence in your hardware.

    I'm telling you, a system that played up like it did before needs to have these things checked. Windows 7 is extremely stable and just doesn't bugger about like that all by itself.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
    Evolved says thanks.
  14. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    No such thing as a "bad Win 7" install. Something corrupted it, whether it be a bad driver or faulty hardware, or bad 3rd party software install or uninstall. Re-loading it just overwrote what was corrupted by the culprit. Hope the Win 7 install doesn't get corrupted again, but would not be surprised if it did.
     
    Derek12 and Evolved say thanks.
  15. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    YVW!! :cool:

    Yes there is, why would you say such a thing? I have had this happen on various Windows installations from 98 upwards and now and again for some unknow reason from a fresh install it is not right, even before drivers or anything gets installed, it doesn't happen a lot but I can tell you it does.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  16. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So not familiar with this board. How do I activate XMP so that my RAM reads 1600Mhz?
     
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    should be under RAM timings as XMP or load profile or something along those lines
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  18. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    I managed to boot with each individual module (also played around with each one), and it's completely stable and no crashes.

    If anything goes wrong in the future, I MUST be the HDD.
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    How did you check for instabilities? Oh and I am sorry I didn't get back with you yesterday. :ohwell:
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  20. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Ok, that's good, but what do you mean by 'played around with it'?

    Also, I'm sorry, but for proper confidence in your hardware after that experience, you need to check your HD with the manufacturer's HD health software tool, update the BIOS to the latest version and run memtest. I'm not gonna change my tune on that, buddy! :laugh: :toast:

    If it helps to convince you any, I've been doing computers for the last 30-odd years since I was a kid, I also work in IT and I've got loads of PC building and troubleshooting experience under my belt. :) If you need any help in doing those checks and updates, then that's what this forum is here for.
     
    Evolved and 95Viper say thanks.
  21. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I am always so overlooked, but, I did post this(to quote myself):
    "Sounds like two different problems. Windows install is not kosher and, maybe, hardware.
    It is possible, hard drive flaws are causing the Windows errors(problems)."


    Still, could be a lurking HDD problems... might not rear it ugly head, again, for months or years.
    However, it could bite you next week or the next second. Hope it doesn't.
    Alas, a new drive could take a dump out of the box! So bench/play on!:rockout:

    Glad you are up and running.:)

    P.S. Always back-up your data!
     
    Evolved and qubit say thanks.
  22. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,832 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    What are you talking about? Real men don't back up their data. Take a walk on the wild side man!

    j/k :)

    That's good hardware advice you gave there, dude.
     
    Evolved and 95Viper say thanks.
  23. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Because in my 20 years of working in software QA and reloading images and OSes a couple dozen of times a week, I've never seen a bad OS install. The only time it happens is if there is hardware trouble during the install or something after the install corrupts it. I'm not saying it can't happen. I'm just saying that I've never seen it happen in 20 years where you couldn't trace it back to a hardware issue. Hopefully, the corruption in this case was not caused by a hardware issue. I've seen driver and 3rd party software installs cause this kind of problem too and maybe that's what happened here.
     
    Evolved and qubit say thanks.
  24. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    So the message of the story was:
    1500$ for an answer?
    You could find the answer without money at all anyway :D
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  25. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    One of the first things to do when problems happen and you can't pinpoint it is to clean install windows (second HDD or partition best), that's why in my post in your previous thread I mentioned clean installation. Specially if you recycled the Windows installation from a previous computer with different hardware (That was my experience)

    Anyway it would be interesting how an OS ended so corrupted like that, specially if you hadn't malware there and was a fresh install.

    I think CJCerny is right :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
    Evolved and qubit say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page