1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

16 GB (4x 4 GB) with Lynnfield CPU

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by btarunr, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,710 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,423
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Has anyone tried 4x 4 GB with Core i5/i7 "Lynnfield" LGA1156 CPUs? I know for one Lynnfield IMC only supports up to 16 GB of memory, but when maxed out, is there an address-space limitation? Does graphics card memory eat into system memory "usability"?

    I plan a memory upgrade, and I'll be using Windows 7 x64 Ultimate. I know that Windows 7 Home has a 16 GB address-space limitation.
  2. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,738 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Not sure about the Core i's but I am currently using 4GB x4 (16GB) with no issues with my Bulldozer setup. Before I only had 8GB (2GB x 4) with my late Phenom II setup and watching HD DivX movies my memory usage would be approx: 50% to 70%. Now with 16GB, it's around 20% to 30%. 16GB is a dump load of memory and I love it :D

    I got my 16GB running at it's stock speed of 1866MHz... with a 4.40 GHz 8-Core Bulldozer OC all stable.
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
    btarunr says thanks.
  3. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    192 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Fiancee is running a i7 860 with 16gb (4x4gb) on EVGA P55 SLi and no issues at all
    btarunr says thanks.
  4. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,710 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Got 16GB on my i5 760.

    i5 760 @ 4GHz
    4x4GB @ 1600MHz Cas9

    Not a single fault so far.
    btarunr says thanks.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, no problem running 16 GB on 1156, but clocking over 1600 Mhz can be hard, and needs a good board, and supporting BIOS.

    As to the IGP-included CPUs, they might eat up a bit as they would in any system, but shouldn't be too much of an issue when it comes down to accessing the rest of the ram. You got the OS covered, so I think you'll be good to go.

    GART space is still just 256MB per device(sometimes for all devices), so I don't see you having any issues with included VGAs. This is only on issue on 32-bit systems where 4GB is the max addressible space. Pretty sure ultimate is liek up to 128GB? might be off on that though.
    btarunr says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page