1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1680x1050 GPU?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by N3n0, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is the best gpu i can add to my computer?
    I have:
    Cooler Master Centurion 534 - psu 380W CM
    Asus P5LD2 SE
    Intel Core 2 Duo E4300@1.80Ghz
    2x512MB DDR2 Kingston 533Mhz
    2x1GB DDR2 Kingston 800Mhz
    Asus nVidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB
    WD 160GB+WD 640GB
    Monitor Samsung 226BW (1680x1050).
     
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,731 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    What OS are you using?
     
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Depending what sort of games you play, and your budget? I would say Ati 5770-6850, You may need a higher power power supply though.
     
  4. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Windows 7 32 bit
     
  5. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,731 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I wouldn't bother. Just replace your entire system with a Phenon II or a Sandybridge i5 system.
     
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    That's assuming he has the money to do that.
     
  7. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    FIFA 12, Witcher 2, TW Shogun 2,...
    Budget? I dont know. I dont think there is any point in splashing over 150$ for gpu, considering what my other components are.
     
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Well it would probs have to be the hd5770 with your psu, and even then it might be pushing it. I would suggest getting a slightly better psu as well, you wont need anything over 450-500watt i don't think.
     
    N3n0 says thanks.
  9. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so: i have oc my proc to 2,8Ghz; if i get 6850 what is your recomm. for psu, what brand, how many watts, what model?
     
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    +1 tigger

    Of course he does, when your rig aint good enough you just pull it from out thin air to buy a new one, I am sure that's why he asked about a GPU upgrade as opposed to a new rig suggestions, not everyone can build a new rig on a whim and I detest that as an answer to a question like what GPU should I buy.

    I think your CM 380w would be fine for anything below and up to an 6850, assuming it's not already on it's way out in which case a 400-450w is ample for your needs.
     
    tigger and N3n0 say thanks.
  11. jagjitnatt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I think 6850 is your card.

    You will have to upgrade your PSU soon though.
     
  12. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    I use a ATI HD5750 with my screen that is 1600/1200 and can play almost any game without problems so something like a 5770 or 6850 should be ok for your needs but i would personly go for the 6850 if you can afford it.
     
  13. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    All modern cards will be bottlenecked by that E4300 it needs a little more kick and games will get better with just that. Your 7600GT however is definitely a bit aged would look into a 5770 or a GTX460. I run a GTX450, i7 quad@4ghz all on a 450W judging by the fact that the cpu/GPU combo alone on mine outpulls your entire system power wise I would say that 380w is fine assuming its in good condition.

    One of these PSU's

    Antec NEO ECO 400C 400W Continuous Power ATX12V 2....

    CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 V2 (CMPSU-430CXV2) 43...

    CORSAIR Builder Series CX500 V2 500W ATX12V v2.3 8...

    something like this for the GPU

    ZOTAC ZT-40408-10P GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256...

    SAPPHIRE 100283-3L Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR...

    SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100283VX-2L Radeon HD 5770 (Junip...

    MSI R5770 Hawk Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PC...
     
    HossHuge and Jetster say thanks.
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,609 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a 5770 on my cruncher that runs 1680x1050 and I play BF3 on medium above 50 FPS easy. I dont know if 380W would be enough for a 5770 though?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    On a 380w continuous no problem on a 380w peak thats getting iffy with the CPU and GPU loaded down. It would likely be in the danger zone with rails getting to hot. Things is a 5770+decent PSU is still under $150.
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,609 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea, I would assume its a generic PSU :( A good corsair 430W would do him some justice!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Why assume, he said it in his OP CM 380w ;)

    http://www.coolermaster.co.uk/download.php?action=ViewDownload&id=480


    has 2 x +12v rails at 10a/15a and delivers 300w over them, with that 65w CPU it should easily cope with an 5770 and up to an 6850 or anything else with a single 6pin PCIE requirement.
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,609 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ahhh, I need my morning coffee! I didnt notice the CM beside the 380W :( FML

    Ok then that PSU should be fine for what he needs. 5770 is still a great card!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is what is on the sticker of psu: ATX12V PRODUCT NO._RS-380-PMSP.
    PSU is Cooler Master.
     
  20. timma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    86 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    buy gigabyte 6850 OC .;)
     
  21. inf3rno

    inf3rno New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    411 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    +1 for that

    Does not 6850 is an overkill for that system?
     
  22. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,012 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Oregon
    6850 is NOT going to work. Even if he upgraded the PSU it would still be bottlenecked by his CPU

    5770 requires a 400W. Thats even a no go but with a PSU its posible

    A new CPU say Q9550 if his board can take it. 6850 + PSU Then would be cheaper just to buy a Sandy Bridge set up
     
    inf3rno says thanks.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Manufacturer specs for power are a guideline, first off 20w isn't exactly the end all difference and his power supply is rated to handle well more than a 5770 overclocked could pull on the 12v rails.
     
  24. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    Imo its fine to get 6850, that is, if OP plans to upgrade his CPU within a year or two. If not, I think the smartest idea is to get a 2nd hand 5770, if not 1st hand 5770. Judging by the spcs, it looks like OP doesn't really care much about running things on high, with that in mind the best bang/buck card is the best option. I am with cdawall here, you can push a CM PSU to the rating, but not much further.
     
    inf3rno says thanks.
  25. inf3rno

    inf3rno New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    411 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Or the smart idea could be change CPU+MOBO first.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page