1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1680x1050 GPU?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by N3n0, Nov 30, 2011.

  1. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,221 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,001
    Location:
    Home
    That will be not so smart because the current bottleneck is the graphics. Plus the CPU is not that bad, its probably at least on par with my processor (in laptop) and my laptop can just about handle Skyrim, and runs Starcraft 2 fine.
     
  2. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    my build runs it fine on BF3 and thats my max resolution on my screen...i went on a budget build too spent 400$ max, i found great deals from both Frys and Microcenter
     
  3. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    GPU's that have been suggested:
    5750
    5770
    6850
    gtx 460?
    I'm sorry but can someone help me decide between these cards. My main concerns are will psu be strong enough, and is cpu too big bottleneck for gpu's. I'm even ready to go for new psu, only if my gpu is working 100% of capacity, not to have great card that can't work properly in my system. To repeat my specs:
    Cooler Master Centurion 534 - psu 380W CM
    Asus P5LD2 SE
    Intel Core 2 Duo E4300@ OC 2.80Ghz
    2x512MB DDR2 Kingston OC 700Mhz
    2x1GB DDR2 Kingston DC 700Mhz

    Asus nVidia Geforce 7600GT 256MB
    WD 160GB+WD 640GB
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
  4. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    upgrade the psu first at that oc(even if it wasn't actually)' either the cpu or video card will just choke eachother out.
     
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Psu will still be fine at that clock with a 5770
     
  6. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    I use a 6850 and have yet to have problems in Any game (skyrim included) while running 1650x1080. Its a pretty nice card!
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,221 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,001
    Location:
    Home
    All of them are good candidates. You will have to pick one base on price/perf or availability, or personal preference, we cannot help you for the last 2 but the first one looks like the winner is going to be 5770 at about $100.
     
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,087 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
  9. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. jagjitnatt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    127 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    6850 will consume just as much as a 5770, and will perform better. Get it :pimp:
     
  11. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,896 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,523
    Location:
    Mexico
    I think a 6670 would be perfect for you. I used to game with an AGP rig (Pentium E5800, HIS HD4650 AGP OCed to HD4670 specs) and I always got playable fps (>30) at 1280x1024 in anything I threw at it which isn't that far from your current resolution. You could go for an HD6570 and overclock it, as it has the same GPU and ROPs, if you want to save a little money.

    I also concur that something like an HD6850 is going to be limited by your CPU, although if you go that route you could keep the card once you upgrade your PC. Also, try to overclock your CPU.



    The HD6850 consumes about 30w more at full load but with his CPU I don't think it will ever get to that. At idle, the HD6850 consumes about 10w less.
     
    xaira and Jeffredo say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I would go with a decent 5770 and call it good. You might want a better PSU but I was able to run a dual core with a 5770 on a little Corsair 400W.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,087 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    N3n0 does your psu have a 6pin connecter?
     
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,896 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,523
    Location:
    Mexico
    According to CM's specs, it doesn't. Doesn't really matter, every card comes with a molex to PCIe adapter.


    N3n0, apparently you can overclock your CPU with that board:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43918

    I assume that you're using the stock heatsink so I would suggest to invest in a better cooler and overclock your CPU; there are many ~$20 options that should do fine. That and an HD6670 would be a fine $100-ish upgrade.


    If you can come up with the dough, the best course of action would be a complete upgrade. I think $400 are enough for a decent rig that would last you for years.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
    N3n0 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. N3n0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't think it has a 6 pin connector: http://images10.newegg.com/uploadfilesfornewegg/itemintelligence/CoolerMaster/eXtreme380.pdf
    Interesting thing happened to me while i was looking at some 6750/6770. The guy who works at the shop told me what he had done. He had a similar card (9600gt, mine is 7600gt) and similar mobo+cpu comb (bought same year as me (2007)). He went for 6950 and is super satisfied with it. Plans to wait for a while and then upgrade whole system (new mobo and cpu).
    I dont know, depends how much money i will have, but maybe a new psu+6850 is a good buy for now.
     
  16. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,087 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Good plan. You definitely need to upgrade that psu. And going from a 7600GT to either a 5770/6850 is going to be sweet....:rockout:
     
  17. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,269 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    Before i got my quad core cpu i was running my ati HD5750 on a core 2 duo E6550 overclocked to 2800mhz and i had no trouble at all with my games although im running a higher res than you so i don't think you are going to have a problem with a simler card.
     
  18. Jeffredo

    Jeffredo

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    823 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Finally someone suggests what I thought would be the obvious choice given his resolution, CPU and PSU. Anything more would be overkill.
     
    xaira says thanks.
  19. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,398 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    HD 6670 indeed imo

    personal experience with X2 5200+ @ 3.2Ghz: bottlenecks the 9600GT already, upgrading to a GTX 460SE oc'd yields small difference to no difference in performance (save for some GPU bound games).
    getting just an i3 2100 made every game, even GPU bound ones much faster than the X2.
     
    xxdozer32 says thanks.
  20. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    6850 would be a waste but would be good for future upgrade. If to expensive get 6770/5770.
     
  21. xxdozer32

    xxdozer32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    OC, SOCAL
    this is exactly why i upgraded from the 255 to the 965, big difference. i too had the MSI n9600gt and got a great deal on my 460 :)
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,805 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
  23. ivicagmc

    ivicagmc

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Serbia
    I'm still satisfied with my 5770 on full HD. Playing everything on medium or high. On your resolution used 5750 will be fine and all 5750 overclock like mad and sometimes overcome stock 5770, but use 30W less.
    About PSU... I have been playing my current rig on 350W Chieftec (relatively good PSU here) for a year. When I replaced it, it was still working. If your PSU is old and been working 24/7 than you must know that it's power degrades over time. Especially if it heat's allot.
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,412 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,484
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I think the OP should go with a 6750 as in most games its as fast as a 5770, scales well with an overclock, and without overclocking consumes even less power than the 5770. Did I mention it's a touch faster than a GTS450?
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,805 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,929
    price too
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page