1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1k budget build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Elmo, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hey guys need some help please try to build a system within the 1,000 budget . System used for photoshop etc. requirment intel procs, z77 board , gtx 560 , a case with cable management.
    the rest you may state . No screen/os needed
     
  2. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    So far within that 1K(USD) Budget i have chosen

    i5 3570k
    MSI z77a-g43
    Mushkin 4GB X2
    Leadtek GTX 560
    Corsair force 3 120GB + 500GB WD Black
    CM GX 650w
    Corsair 400R
    1X ODD
    Any other recommendation and suggestions to change components let me know
     
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    You should be able to get a better graphics card in, and and that is more or less how most computers look like right now. There is very little variation if you can afford a 2500K/3570K.
     
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    No reason not to get 8GB of RAM as it's so cheap.
     
  5. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Fourstuff please do tell me how so because my budget total is over that 1k with that specs it totals about 1k + 30usd. lol And i put it in usd because its easier for you guys my actual currency is RM
     
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,964 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    An SSD at that budget? I'd prioritize a video card over that instead.
     
  7. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Another question for you guys with the i5 3570k. On stock fan how much can i OC before its considered to be "to" hot I was thinking at 4GHz Max ? Because im not getting a hsf.
     
  8. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Well need to launch photoshop and ai faster.. So are u sure video card is better? this is not for gaming btw. Its meant for web developers , i want to get a quadro card but thats just out of budget , and also it will a 2 monitor configuration.. i hope the 560 can support 2 screens im sure it does.
     
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,688 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You really shouldn't OC with stock Intel cooler imho. They run hot to start with.
     
  10. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Seriously? But i heard people OC their ib cpus with stock just fine? :S well if you say so . But will 4ghz hurt ?
     
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,688 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Depends on how much you need to adjust the voltage, watch it like a hawk. I wouldn't rely on it for a 24/7 OC though. There are plenty of cheap coolers that will do a better job, I wouldn't exclude that possibility.
     
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well I mean it's 3.8 stock so it's not that much of an overclock anyway. But all you can do is try it and watch the temps.
     
  13. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    idk what shop you are using but the last time I went to Malaysia the computer parts are not too much more expensive compared to US prices.
     
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,688 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's actually 3.4ghz stock, 3.8ghz turbo and by default turbo doesn't bin 3.8ghz on all cores (I found this true for both the 2600k on a Gigabyte P67 UD4 board and 3820 with my P9X79 Deluxe), some cores run faster than others to keep the CPU within thermal spec. If you want 4ghz on all cores, you may run into a heat issue, just FYI.

    It's still a worth while investment to get a different cooler, you're not just giving yourself the ability to OC, but you're helping the longevity of your CPU in the long term.
     
    Elmo says thanks.
  15. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Components are cheap here no doubt compared to the us but by alittle but here the ssd is about 30us extra which is = to rm100. About the OC i think if i dont i might as well go for an locked procs. Still thinking ill be doing the purchase tomorrow :S
     
  16. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Won't disagree but when you overclock you overclock the Turbo for K series. Why I said 3.8.
     
  17. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    I learnt something new :p anyway ill try to see if its in the budget to get a non stock hsf any suggestions ? you know not to expensive..
     
  18. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,269 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    1k, these guys are going to build you a beast..
    I have seen them build monsters with a 600 budget..

    If you can, I'd work a 670 into that mix and drop the 560..
    GPU>CPU imo, don't need the craziest top of the line cpu, a few steps down and you won't even notice.

    Cooling you can get later and the same even goes for the case.
    Get the meat and worry about the vegetables later..
    4ghz oc is easily attainable, just check the temps to verify it's ok.
    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2012
  19. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    IF you say so can u work it out in USD? total specs and their price each il ltry to do a comparison . Because so far all i can get is that spec within that 1k :c
     
  20. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    What software do you recommend to do the stress test? that is light as in filesize of the app .
     
  21. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    485 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Arcadia
    prime 95 or intel diagnostick tool, prime is much more stressfull , but with stock cooler you risk too much
     
  22. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Need list price for common stuff, or we will not be able to adjust for you.
     
  23. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
  24. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Does the gtx 560 support 2 monitors?
     
  25. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Sapphire 7850 at RM749 is better than the GTX560
     
    INSTG8R says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page