1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1st Build, advice pls

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Acneman, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. Acneman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello there,

    Im just planning my first build and i wanted to run the spec by some techies . im pretty exited as iv got a decent budget and havn't had a new computer in a few years. here goes

    Mobo: Asus striker extreme
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=4CCD

    Case: Akasa mirage 62
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=49R1

    PSU: Akasa ATX 2.2 400W
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=49R7

    RAM: 4Gb OCZ
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=4KZM

    HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 750GB S300
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=42L2

    Graphics: Sapphire radeon 512mb dual dvi
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=4D6N

    CPU fan: Zalman CNPS9700
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=4C8D

    Optical: HP DVD +/-RW
    http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=4DBS

    Case fans: 2x http://www.dabs4work.com/productview.aspx?Quicklinx=2RWK

    gonna buy everything after the next intel price cut (+ a q6700)

    im manly concerned about some of the striker extreme reviews, whether the zalman will fit in the case, if cooling is adequate for overclock and the ram. its perfect except its CL5, but i can only get maxed spec ram in 1Gb modules :-(
    any feed back would be great, also im not a big gamer. going hi spec for photoshop and futureproofing.
    Acneman out
     
  2. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Personally I'd go for a higher wattage PSU, say 550 or 600W and a Geforce 8800 series. But it depends on your budget.

    (Nice username btw! :D )
     
  3. Flamingsupernova

    Flamingsupernova New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    160 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Do you mean 4gb of CL5 RAM?
     
  4. Acneman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    k bp will check out the higher watt psu's, id go for a good graphics card but like i said im not a big gamr. i need dual dvi and i dont want to spend $$, could go with a geforce 8600 256mb?

    yes flaming super nova i mean 4gb of cl5 ram, check the link above. its maxed for my mobo except for the cl
     
  5. GumCuz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    The best way to futureproof this rig would be to get 2x2gb sticks, as a major forseeable upgrade in a year or 2 would be 8gb of memory. I think if it was me, and I had to choose between 4x1gb cl5 memory, or 2x2gb cl6 mem, I'd go with the cl6 stuff. I mean, you're going to have to slack timings to increase frequency anyway, so who cares? Keep in mind, a lot of memory that calls for a cl6 timing can easily be run at cl5, with a tiny voltage bump. Also, a 400w PSU would self-destruct in 5 minutes with those components. I think even a 550 would be cutting it kind of thin. You'd want at least a 650w, with 2x25-30amp rails. Also, a zalman 9700 would be great for this processor, but the quads really dump a ton of heat. I don't know if you could clock that high, but it would definetly handle it at stock speeds, or with a mild overclock. If you're not playing games, don't blow a bunch of bucks on a $500 card. an 8600gt would be just fine. Way more than enough. Granted, it wouldn't be even close to matched with the rest of your system, it would be a severe bottleneck if you were ever doing some intense gaming, but it would handle most games at 1280x1024 with some eye candy just fine.
     
  6. Acneman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  7. Acneman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    hey acneman, you say your not a big gamer so I would stay away from the X1950, its a big card and is great for gaming but not for what you want. Just get a 8600GT. it is small, doesn't require an external power connector and has DX10. Or if you like you could get a ATI 2600xt which is also quite fast, small, and has HDMI output.
     
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I agree with the 2 x 2gb sticks of ram, that will last for a while, you won't need 8gb for at least another 2 yrs!!

    And a 600watt psu is HEAPS!!! if you are not running a huge vcard. just make sure you get a good brand one.
     
  10. Acneman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2007
  11. Acneman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    that rams bloody expensive

    edit: oops, didnt realise it was 2gb sticks, nevermind
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page