1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1st Intel build in years. Need help !

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by fsufan0025, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. fsufan0025

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    AMD person for a long time, but upgrading and I'm going to a Intel. My current hardware. Antec 902, Seasonic 550 modular, Corsair H60, Asus M4a78lt-m, 1065 6 core, 16 gig 1333 corsair, 1 tb sata, 30 gig corsair SSD, 550 ti ddr5 video. Getting a i5 but not sure which 1, and need board help !! How about it Intel people ? I like Asus or Gigabytes boards, but the asrocks look nice. And memory ! OMG !! I need to stay around $600 but need 16 or 32 gigs. So -- who can help ? Cl and timing help would be great, and board suggestions !
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,237 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    the existing ram you have will work.

    a Ivy Bridge CPU core i5 id recommend. AsRock on the Z77 board line
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,175 (5.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Home
    Sounds like you do heavy computations stuff, I would recommend taking a look at the i7s. Any 1600/1866 ram is good for IVB.

    Edit: you can reuse the 1333 ram you have right now, no worries.
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    What are you doing with all that RAM? 8GB is just fine for gaming.

    Fish around in our BST forums a bit, or put up a WTB thread. Maybe someone has a 2600k they're willing to let go. If you can find a 2600k for a good price, the 3770k probably isn't worth it, unless you manage to get a deal on that.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,009
    acouple questions

    what will you be using the computer for?

    what resolution monitor will you be using with the computer?

    are you upgrading your phenom II system or building a whole new system?

    do you have a copy of windows already?

    what country are you in?
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,237 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    he might verywell just be swapping for an Intel CPU and a compatible board, with new ram.
  7. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,009
    that's why I asked.
    Crunching for Team TPU 1 Million points folded for TPU
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,337 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    i been looking alittle around on newegg and i came up with this:

    Intel Core i5-3570K @ $229,99

    ASUS P8Z77-V @ $184,99

    than u can take 8gb or 16gb depending on what u want...

    G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133mhz Model F3-17000CL9D-8GBSR @ 59,99USD

    or

    G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133mhz Model F3-17000CL11Q-16GBSR @ $99,99


    so it ends up at these prices:

    with 8gb it's $479,97
    with 16gb it's 514,97


    and u can reuse ur Corsair H60, Nvidia GeForce GTX 550Ti, 1TB drive, Corsair 30gb SSD and ur SeaSonic 550watt psu.

    but if u want to use around $110~170 more u can get a Samsung 830 Series SSD 128gb or 256gb which will give u more space which is nice i the 128gb version myself and it's :rockout:

    Samsung 830 Series Links:

    SAMSUNG 830 Series MZ-7PC128B/WW 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) @ $109,99

    SAMSUNG 830 Series MZ-7PC256B/WW 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) @ $169,99


    i choose the Asus P8Z77-V bcs u get onboard Intel Ethernet which is better than Realtek, Broadcom and whatever everyone else is using. and yes i am aware of only 1xPCI-E 3.0 x16 but if u not planing about running SLi nur Crossfire u should be good to go.

    i hope this gives u an idea of what u can get ^^
  9. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    532 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I'm not sure if this applies to you , or what your PC component shopping knowledge is. But I would recommend if you DO live in the US, and IF your in a state with a microcenter , that you Take the time to Make the trip to their store. I am NOT the most knowledgeable PC builder , although I have done 6 ground up build's and, I have saved a TON going through them.(I read through the posts and didnt see a location) sorry if I missed it.
    Also I saw these on Newegg

    this kingston would be around $68 USD for 16Gb's

    Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDR...

    Best of luck on your Upgrade
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,337 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    748
    i would say minimum 1600mhz for Intel system now a dayz bcs 1333mhz is just the low ball and not worth it.

    the two i linked was 2133mhz :rockout:
  11. fsufan0025

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm in the u.s. and don't game and usually don't overclock. But -- what about this combo ? I5 3470 ivy bridge (3.2). Asrock z77 oc formula board, and Kingston hyper x 4x4 1600 cl9 9-9-9-24 ?. Decent ? Suggestions for a better combo ? Reuse my hd ,SSD, video card, h60, and windows 7 professional 64 bit .
  12. fsufan0025

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    more info

    I use my 50 inch Samsung HDTV as a monitor and my Samsung 1000 watt 5.1 surround sound system for the sound.
  13. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    It would be a lot easier to simply set your current 1333mhz ram to 1600mhz in the BIOS. It will work without a hitch especially setting the timings to 9-9-9-27.
  15. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,724 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    If you do hypervisors don't get the ones with the K they don't have Intel® Virtualization Technology for Directed I/O (VT-d)
  16. Novulux

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Perhaps you should contemplate getting a Xeon E3 if you don't play on overclocking or playing games.
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,237 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    honestly if youre not going to overclock why not just get a 75 based motherboard for that CPU.
  18. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    816 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    246
    I'm real happy with my i5-3570K/Asus P8Z77-V system because with all the latest bus speeds and memory architecture, I'm good to go for a long time. PCIe 3.0 lanes won't be saturated for a few more generations of video cards, and only SSDs can take advantage of SATA 6 GB/s and USB 3.0. So until they come up with something drastically faster (like reasonably priced Thunderbolt drives), there's no reason to upgrade for a while, and I can overclock to keep up with processing demands.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page