1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1st watercooling no flow

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by foggy122, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. foggy122 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    1 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello all
    firstly im new to watercooling and this is my first time ive build one.
    i have used the following EK 4.0 pump, phobya cpu waterblock, 2x120mm fan radiator and a phobya dual bay resevoir. i am running it like so pump---cpu waterblock---radiator---resevoir.
    i have filled the system with feser blue coolent but when i turn the pump on it pumped the liquid around fast at start and the bubbles came through . when the bubbles stopped i looked in the resevoir and there was no flow at all. hope u can help thanks
    i have taken a picture to show how i set it up
    DSC_0087 - Copy.jpg
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Maybe air trapped in the pump [pump impellers only work with water resistance], [*make sure res fill top is secured] *try tilting the case from side to side & back to front.

    atb

    Law-II
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,701 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,307
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    could be from pump since when its full it may heavier to push the water
    check your pump too, or check ouside your case
  4. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    Nice pix!

    One thing looks a bit upside down .... the RAD.

    Normally, the inlet/outlet fittings are on the bottom.

    Your loop with the RAD fittings up top allows the coolant to dumb in, but is it dumping out like it should. And is there back pressure when the RAD is finally filled that the pump can not overcome.

    What is the EK pump's rated head pressure?

    OK, I hope I didn't sound harsh. It's just an observation.
  5. Bones

    Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    62 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Alabama
    The RAD's mounting looks good to me.... I've always ran mine with the fittings on top and it's never caused a problem. If anything that lets the air escape out the top rather than trapping it within the rad with no where to go, air always rises vs liquid and that's why mine is set up that way.
    One thing to remember is when setting up a system, water will always seek it's own level, that's something you can take advantage of when doing a setup. You can use that fact to help the pump do it's work more easily and even for initial priming of a system. Also noted the RES isn't the highest part of the system, the RAD being a little higher up. If your RES is accessible (Meaning you can open it up via a cap of somekind for topping off the system), that would allow for getting air out whenever you'd do that. However, when you start the system the pump will push air along. The main thing being to have somewhere for the air to leave the system so water/coolant can take it's place once it reaches a high point to escape.

    This is why I always have my RES as the highest part of my setup whenever possible. Air once I top it off or refill/whatever simply gets pushed to the RES when I start it and comes out leaving nothing but coolant in the system itself. Mind you my setup is a custom setup and is more elaborate than the one shown in your pic, including a 2.5 Gal RES I made myself.
    Here's a partial pic of the setup as is. There's more that I've done to it you can't see but easily explained.
    setup.JPG
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  6. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,187 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    367
    With the description you gave I don't think there is any problem at all. You shouldn't expect to see a vortex or any significant movement of the liquid in the reservoir (e.g. splashing) unless you have a ridiculously powerful pump. The fact that you saw bubbles come out initially makes me believe that your pump is working properly. The only difference now is that there is nothing indicating flow so it looks like the pump is broken.

    I can't tell when my pump is working in my system by looking at the coolant; I have to listen for the pump noise and check temperatures to confirm it is working. If you want something for peace of mind some manufacturers sell inline flow indicators.
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
  7. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,641 (7.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    There isn't supposed to be a visual obviousness of a pump working. I've never actually seen a pump in action in any of my W/C builds, but if your temps are within reason, there's no reason to believe the pump isnt working. All you have to do is put your hand on the pump and feel for a minor hum or vibration. That means it's working.
    Also check your input/output is the right way around on your CPU block.
  8. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,651 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well not of the pump simply working but if there is flow you will see bubbles shooting around in the res before the loop is bled. There is an noticeable difference in sound too.
  9. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,561 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Law-II says thanks.
  10. Henkenator68NL

    Henkenator68NL

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    13 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Near the waddensee in the Netherlands
    Did you figure out the problem already?

    By the way, I have come accross some waterblocks (see attached picture) that have specific inlet and outlet, if you fit it the wrong way the flow is not oke. Did you check if something like that is at hand?

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page