1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1t and 2t?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Thermopylae_480, Jan 24, 2006.

  1. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I realize that 1t is better than 2t, but what exactly is 1t and 2t? How can you tell which your memory is at? Yes I realize that the majority of mem controllers run at 2t with all four DIMM slots filled. I would just like to know how to check, what it is, and why. Anyone up to the challenge?
  2. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Command rate is the amount of time in cycles (1T or 2T) ("T" just means cycle/time) when a bank can be selected/chip select is executed, then be issued a command. So if it takes one cycle (1T), it will perform faster, 2T will be slower where it takes 2 cycles. 2T is used when there is sability issues, or 4 double ranked DIMM's installed. It gives the chipset more time to properly address the memory. So when there is more memory, it takes longer to address where there more chips/banks.

    You can tell by your bios, and programs like Systool. It is only on AMD systems, Intel has a fixed command rate of 1T.

    -Dan
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    So my 4x 512MB sticks are running at 1T ????:confused: Im confused :laugh:
  4. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,736 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Intel does some trick with the memory controller and limiting the amount of open memory banks per channel to 4. So it does not overwhelm the memory controller with 16 banks when there are 4 sticks, so there is no need for 2T.

    I'm not sure how it does work exactly, but that is what I've read. It make sense though.

    -Dan
  5. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Thank you. It all makes much more sense now.:)
  6. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,134 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thanx m8 ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page