1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

1xCPU 2xGPU's 1 Loop Possible?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by 20mmrain, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I am asking is it possible or recommended to do a Water cooling loop of the following.

    1x CPU
    2x GPU's

    I am asking this question to save space in my case. If I were to get a pump that was strong enough... and maybe like a Quad x 120mm Rad..

    Or maybe even doing two Duel x 120mm Rads and a strong pump. Rads to be placed in between the CPU and GPU and Res.

    I ask this becasue I can not find a definitive answer on this. I have checked the forums out there..... some say it can be done safely and with awesome results. Others say no way and it is a bad idea.

    Any thoughts suggestions..... I don't mind going two loops if I really have too. But would rather stick to one if possible.... and I can still get good results.
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I ran a loop that had the CPU and 2 GPUs in it along with dual rads.
    the rad placed between the CPU and GPUs doesn't do much. I got a 1c drop and thats about it.
    It can be done safely and give great results if you pick the right parts. Give a budget and the stores you would like to buy from and I/we will help :)

    IMO it is in no way at all a bad idea if you get good pump(s) and rad(s)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    20mmrain says thanks.
  4. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,473 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    simple answer ...........YES!
    20mmrain says thanks.
  5. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well Tax Returns are coming and I am thinking on spending about $250 to $350 on it. Mind you I would maybe be willing to go up to $400 on it but the fact that I am already running a loop on my CPU I could use some of those parts. I already have two 2x120mm Rads.... one I am using right now and the other sitting in a box. But neither rads have to be used... I am open to suggestions.

    But the places I am thinking on buying from are Danger Den/ Frozen CPU/ Performance PC/ Possible Swift tech

    Oh yeah one more thing... I use 6950 1gb cards.... so I need two universal GPU blocks and Ram Sinks. I was thinking on the Maze 5's from Danger Den.

    Everything looks good there except the GPU blocks..... those are the only thing I would need to do different.
  6. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    I run a i7 2600K OC to 4.6 and two GTX480's in the same loop now. I have a quad dual pass rad and four scythe typhoon fans. I have no problems with it at all.

    Plus it folds 24/7 also

    Nope cpu runs about 58C and GPU's stay around 45C while folding. Running an eheim pump.
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2011
    20mmrain says thanks.
  7. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Did you notice any temp raises having your CPU heat hitting your GPU's before the rads??? Just assuming thats how your set up went.
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    i have a hole stack of Maze4's lol i have also had a bunch of swiftechs

    http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/swmcungpuwa.html

    MCW80's are great only thing about ramsinks vs full cover blocks is VRM cooling make sure you have proper VRM cooling on the card

    Enzotech MOS-C10 C1100 Forged Copper Heatsinks onl...

    something like that would work

    i have the tiny version in my HTPC
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Actually my cards have great VRM cooling on them naturally. They have huge VRM Heatsinks on them.....
    [​IMG]

    I know this pic might not look as big as I was describing.... but they nearly touch the top of the inside of my Heatsink shroud on my card.

    So you think those might work???

    I don't suppose you would want to part with any of those GPU Water Blocks in the near future say 2 to 3 weeks from now if not even sooner LOL :toast:

    Attached Files:

  10. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I run a single loop with 2 gfx cards and 3 rads a 120 after cpu 240 after mobo mem and 320 after gfx, obv never gets hot, i did use 2 pumps tho, as 1 didnt have enough head on it. 1 pump at the start and a second half way tho i can turn 1 off now and alls well so its a failsafe too both cheep pumps due for upgrade as they pop nothing in my spec as listed gets above 50 degrees except the 5870 which hits 58 but no heat bound crashes(just me bound)
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2011
    20mmrain says thanks.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    those will be fine make sure you cool the ram though lol those ones i posted are still some of the best IMO

    i could be talked into parting with the Maze4's i need to clean them again they are kinda dirty lol will post some pics for you
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well I will send you a PM and a friend request.... if you are still willing then we could talk sound good :) actually I got a couple of bucks now.... let me send you a PM we can discuss there. :toast:
    cdawall says thanks.
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    as for the enzotech sinks. They do a great job of keeping things cool. I have used them when i water cooled and on some CPU mosfets on a older AM2 board.
    they cost alittle but are worth it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    I wouldn't trust all that under an MCR320, its a dual pass but single thickness rad. They have some pretty low Delta temps(large range of temps) which means temps may get out of hand quickly.

    Personally I have had amazing success with Thermochill. They do cost more but are thicker and notorious for damn good performance.
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    he already has a black ice ii 240+360 should be more than enough for this loop

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page