1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 Builds - Advice Needed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Mar 10, 2008.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Build Uno: Budget Gamer

    Whats Needed
    Mobo, Proc, Ram, HDD, Vidcard

    Target
    Play modern games @ 1078x768, Maybe crysis @ medium.


    Build Deux: Budget Architect

    Whats Needed
    Board, RAM, HDD, Vidcard

    Build Deux should be centered around a E6400

    Target
    Customer Has a Theater 550 and they'd like to use it and not see almost 100% CPU usage (due to lame A64 3200+). Also they'd like to use AutoCAD and stuff reasonably. They have a large anime collection as well. Light gamer, occasionally dabbles in games. Last game i saw him play was CMR 2005, dunno what else him play.
     
  2. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Build 1 - 8800GS

    Build 2 - 2600xt

    As a side note, I do all my CAD work on an ATI Rage 128pro. It's not that complicated...
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    -Build Uno:
    Go with all AMD for this one. Somewhere around a 4000-4400 X2 w/2GB 800mhz ram. Pair it with probably an HD3850. As for hard drive, some where around 200GB or 2 120's in RAID 0 should suit their needs. Make sure you get a "crossfire"-able mobo.

    EDIT:As a side note, my e1200,mildly overclocked, is on par with a 4200+ around most average max overclock. They cost about the same. So if your interested in going Intel look into the e1200, its a performer!

    -Build Duex:
    You will want to go with something 780i/680i or P35 w/crossfire, then pair it with a SINGLE graphics card, you could probably get away with the 2600xt/8600gt bracket of cards. Obviously, 4GB ram would work wonders for their AutoCAD work. Unsure of how big of a hard drive they would need but anything 320GB+ seems its going to be a media pc.
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    uno: q6600, dfi blood iron, 3850, ballistix 800 2gb,

    deux: e6400, blood iron, 3850, samsung f1 750 gb or f1 1000 gb or samsung 500 gb (t2 i think)
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    For budget 1, I'd go with amd's 5000+ Black. if its really a budget then 4000 would be good. hit them with a 3850 and you'll have a good set going on. then hdd is up to user...

    Budget 2 is Intel all the way. p35, with a E something chip... Palit guy says cad runs well on the 8600 so I'd go there. along with a good oc kit or ram.
     
  6. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    +1 on that, 5000+ will be perfect for budget, its under a $100 right now, couple it with a lower end AM+ board and your client is good to go. Edit: prolly should wait until they replace SB600 on these
     
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    yeah, my get up is pretty much budget. all less than a grand... A little more for the stuff I couldn't live without! lol.. but a good budget stuff..
     
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    blood iron's are THE budget intel boards to get right now.. and same with 3850's.. great mid end gaming card thats really good for everything in the system, less heat, voltage, and noise, & space. and then quads if you're gonna be really rendering stuff and they are the cpus to get right now.
     
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Right on that. But we'd have to look at the budget of the person on this really. And if its for a person where Ira lives... I've talked with him alot about pricing there.. Its out of this world! 300 something for a 150 dollar video card...
     
  10. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I have all the stuff you need, PM me...
     
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    damn man! didn't know prices over there were THAT high! you might just be better off getting a bud over in the us buying em off the egg and shipping it over!
     
  12. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    he said it was something like 60 dollars for us to jam. just to have it shipped.. because of it going into a different country


    @mk... YOU have everything don't you! lol...
     
  13. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    What??? That's insane, are we talking about Europe?
     
  14. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I have shipped parts and cases to Europe and Australia..By USPS it gets there about as fast as if I sent it to the East coast of the US..lol

    LOL, I have quite a bit of good stuff sitting around.
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Jamacia. I'll try and find some ims from him... Its just bad there...

    a 320 gb hdd is 13k out here

    200 us...

    while he says its hard to get the amount over there... schooling is a beast... I give the man props for doing all he does for what he has..
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  16. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    well im currently helping friends to get their pc ...both who i know from elementary days. i got ur pm's mk and ill pass on the info, just for my friends to at now.
     
  17. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    a good board for build deux is a Asus P5N E SLI, its reasonable, can run the 45nm new stuff (1333FSB)
    (LOL, got one)
     
  18. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    well Ira, come back when you got more for us, and we'll help out!
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  19. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Hey i got back to the budget gamer and he said funds arent ready as yet so im going to come up witha final list for the architect.

    so ..

    e6400
    nvidia chipset board (with upgrades possible .. like 45 nm quads), sli?
    500 GB hdd (samsung F1)?
    he currently has a 6600GT 128mb, upgrade to 8600GT 1GB?
    XP64 bit?
    4 GB RAM?
     
  20. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    If you can find an 8600gt with less than 1gb it'd be worth paying less. Reviews don't show that much extra memory doing anything for performance, at all. If you can talk him into getting a Sli board, then go with a 9600gt. I hear scaling on those are ridiculous. Really just depends on how much cash he'll be spending...
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    512mb would be ok on the 8600GT, but I'm with Silverel on this one. 9600GT would hold him over even longer.

    And IRA, that really isn't much of a budget gamer if you ask me.
     
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,864 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Uno: C2D E6550 ; Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3 ; 2x 2GB kits have become inexpensive off late, dig into any of the good brands like Corsair, OCZ, Crucial....there are some high-value (5-5-5-12) kits from Mushkin, OCZ that sell for ~$80 ...good investment. Video card: At least a GeForce 8800 GS or Radeon HD 3850 512M.....you choose, they're both great.

    Deux: C2D E6400 ; MSI P35 Neo ; Again, a 2x 2GB kit recommended, Since there's AutoCAD as the primary use, even a 8600 GTS should suffice, if this card sells for ~US$130 in your region, you're much better off with a 8800 GS 384M.
     
  23. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ok, so whats ur definition of a budjet gamer?

    the build i posted above is for the architect

    palit guy and anotther member is saying the 1gb 8600 are excellent for cad
     
  24. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    mm.. I had misunderstood. I thought that list was for the budget gamer.

    1gb is overkill for CAD, the biggest files I work with hardly push 200MB. That'd be the whole assembled front dash of an SUV. Unless he's doing full detail rendering with it, CAD is just flat boring surfaces in 16 different colors. Any modern video card is overkill for it. The only thing a bigger/faster card will do is let him spin it in circles faster, his CPU is what effects the loading, processing, and data placement of the part. The GPU just puts it on screen.

    Hence my original recommendation for something cheap.

    Now, if he wants to play some CS:S in his downtime, thats a different story...
     
  25. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    You really don't need a 1gb 8600 for cad. Palit guy said in the "Newegg now sell Palit" thread that a 8600 at 512 is enough and good enough to run Cad fine.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page