1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 Cards 3 Monitors, Display Issues

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by headshot119, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Hello,

    First off all the specs can be found in my profile, but I'll briefly run through them here.

    AMD 6000+
    OCZ stealth 500W
    ASrock aliveDual-eSATA2 motherboard
    ATI XFX 4830 (PCI E)
    ATI Saphire 2600pro (AGP)

    I have three monitors, and in order from left to right are;

    HP pavilion F1523 15" (1024 * 768)
    Dell 23" Wide screen (1920 * 1080)
    JQ 17" (1280 * 1024)

    I have just installed a new hard drive into the computer a 1TB drive to be exact and have reinstalled windows XP 32bit edition with SP2.

    On the old installation which is on an older drive, which is STILL connected to the PC, the three monitors work fine, with the center monitor set as the primary monitor.

    On the new installation, I initially tried to run the three monitors, but found no matter whether I configured the displays in the windows manager, or CCC after a reboot the left monitor always became the primary, the center monitor disabled itself, and the right monitor worked as normal.

    I have used the latest drivers when I reinstalled, after these gave me the above issue I removed all the ATI drivers, booted up my old XP installation and copied an older set of drivers for both cards on their, that I know work the way I want. After installing these drivers on the new install I get the same issue, so uninstalled them, removed the ATI 2600 from the computer, rebooted and installed the latest 4830 drivers, rebooted, setup the displays with the center monitor as the primary, and re-booted. (Right monitor now redundant as it's not plugged in.) Same issue, left monitor becomes the primary and centre disables itself.

    I really need some help with this.

    Some considerations:

    • My old installation is still in the computer as drive E, could this cause conflicting drivers?
    • I never had the CCC installed on my old installation and all monitors worked fine, could CCC be causing the problem?

    Thanks for any help that is given.
     
  2. Scheich

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    245 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    The behaviour of the CCC is very unrational when it comes to mulitple displays, even if there are only 2 displays. Try + reboot a couple of times slowly increasing the number of displays. Once it works correctly, it will work fine until you unplug a display from the graphiccard. Then the game begins once again :laugh:
     
  3. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Ahh I never thought of that, should I get the left and center working on the main card before I reinstall the second card?

    EDIT, Didn't work, So I've uninstalled and installed the same drivers without the CCC. Just going to set up the second display I hope it works.

    EDIT 2, Still doesn't work even after a couple of reboots.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2010
  4. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Fixed at last, managed to get the driver install that where on my old installation, 8.10 for both cards, no CCC and it all works. :D:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page