1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 EVGA 9800 GX2 power supply requirements?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by DaedalusHelios, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    I just bought a single EVGA 9800 GX2 for my gaming rig!

    But once the drivers mature, I am getting a second one for Quad SLI. When the Q9450 is out I will get that aswell.

    The reason for this thread is that I only have a 750watt PSU. Will that be enough power for Quad SLI 9800 GX2?

    Gaming rig:
    E6850@3.3Ghz soon to be Q9450 OC'ed Zalman 9500 LED
    Asus P5N-T Deluxe 780i
    Cooler Master 750watt
    EVGA 9800 GX2 and soon another (when drivers are mature enough for it)
    4x2GB = 8GB DDR2-800 4-4-4-12
    Saitek Eclipse 2 and G5 laser mouse
    max res I'll be playing at is 1920x1440
    SATA Philips DVD DL Burner
    2x 37GB raptors Raid0 and an extra 74GB raptor
    Thermaltake armor (Silver)
    Windows Vista SP1 x64 Ultimate
    X-Fi Xtreme audio w/ some high wattage Creative 5.1 system (I don't know what its called lol)
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I dont even think nvidia will make drivers for quad sli will they? If they do then they will be about as scalable as the dual card ones lol I would say a 1kw would be enough, a high quality one like a PC Power and cooling or SilverStone is highly reccomended tho..
     
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,599 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,937
    I checked the EVGA official site for you but it seems that the highest range 9xxx series they have the specs for there is the 9600....

    For SLI'ing the 9600 they state the minimum PSU specs as being Minimum 450 Watt with a minimum of 28 Amps on the +12V rail.
    So you'd certainly have to look for something better than that I guess.

    Btw, I really like your rig, especially the improvements you are planning! :rockout:
     
  4. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    If you read the latest reviews of the 9800 GX2 it scales really well actually. Its alot better than the 1950 X2 was and 7950GX2. But AA in Crysis at 2560x1600 is stil buggy so it must be disabled. I don't have a display that handles that resolution.

    It is tearing apart the 3870 X2, but the price is pretty up there.

    They are going to release mature drivers for Quad SLI.

    At the 3870 X2 launch you couldn't even use two cards.

    Its going to happen but I don't want to wait a month. I hope its sooner is what I am saying.
     
  5. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I have to imagine quad SLI is going to be way too much for your CPU (like the tri SLI is now)

    I would NEVER consider a CM PS for those cards either, shadowfolds post lists a couple of much better PSs.
     
  6. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA

    To much for an OC'ed Q9450? It should reach 4Ghz on air I have heard.

    Skulltrail is out of my budget. :(
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Well yea but Nvidia's SLi has never scaled well. I doubt 4 of them will scale well if 2 can barely get 30%.
     
  8. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
  9. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    I had friends using Skulltrail and they didnt like it. I am certainly no GPU expert just if the Tri SLI is no picnic than seems like quad will suck more.

    It still would be INSANE to see...(and worse case if quad dosent work you should be able to sell the second card)

    My big dream (lol, smaller than yours) was to use 4 3850s on the MSI mobo(till I found out the mobo was not so good) in one of my SFF cases.
     
  10. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    In your system specs it says you have a 22 foot samsung display.... how much did that cost? Probably more than my whole computer. :laugh:
     
  11. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    At 1920x1200 and higher resolution it scales alot better than 30% in Crysis at high settings. Look at the numbers. :laugh:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/2008/03/18/nvidia_geforce_9800_gx2_review/page10.html

    The drivers aren't even close to mature yet either.

    At those resolutions its roughly 50% scaled. Pretty good IMO.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2008
  12. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    $216 tax included. black friday is awesome :D
     
  13. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA

    You meant 22 inch not foot though...... :eek: 22 foot isn't made by samsung. LOL

    You would need a projector. :laugh:
     
  14. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,222 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,128
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    If you wanted two of those cards, I'd suggest a PSU with a single 12V rail, like the Corsair TX750W. Cheapest at Buy.com right now. Hopefully 60A would be sufficient. If not, go higher like the Silverstone Decathlon series which I think has the single 12V.
     
  15. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    oh hahaha didnt notice the error. man 22 foot... imagine playing cod4 on that. or yet.. imagine the graphics power that you would need to even play crysis :eek:
     
  16. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,222 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,128
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Starting Crysis while trying to display on a 22' screen with two 3870X2s would cause the computer to simply vanish without even a sound. It would just be gone.
     
  17. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Because somebody would steal it. lol

    I guess I could shoot for a 1kw somewhere in the Buy/sell/trade forums here.
     
  18. nguyenpeter76 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    312 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    haha
     
  19. FlipIt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    63 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The 1010W OCZ will be OK
     
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    GeForce 9800 GX2 in Quad SLI Tested
    Power Supply Zalman 1000W Modular
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2008
  21. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    One of these should do.

    [​IMG]

    Only few billion($US) per. :laugh:
     
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,952 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,380
    Unless you are just going for benchmarks, 2 GX2's are not needed for the resolution you use.
     
  23. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Crysis 1920x1440 at very high settings. With the OC'ed Q9450 when it comes out and mature drivers for Quad SLI...... it would equal high frames and thats my target.

    3dmark06 doesn't show it off like Crysis does and that gameplay is what I have been waiting for. lol

    I will also upgrade the cooling on each 9800 GX2 when a cooler comes out for a good OC.

    I probably wouldn't need to upgrade for a while after that. :laugh:
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,952 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,380
    Ahh, your monitor does the higher resolutions! In that case get something quality that's over 1000 watts.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page