1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 HDD with different OS

Discussion in 'Storage' started by MeltingPoint, Mar 27, 2013.

  1. MeltingPoint New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello TPU,

    I am actually not a newbie here. I had an account here that I used for seeral years until it got deleted for inactivity (maybe).

    Let's set that matter aside.

    My current system has one HDD with WinXP installed. I have a spare HDD that I will install Win 7 in. I want to use it with the other drive, kinda like dual boot from two physical drives.

    Do I just pop it in and install Win 7 then change the boot sequence?
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,759 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    894
    You hit f11 usually when your bios is loading and choose the drive you want to boot from.

    also,unplug xp drive when installing 7 so no mistakes.
  3. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    AHCI would be the biggest problem.

    If you choose to intall windows 7 with AHCI enabled in BIOs, you will have to disable it when you change back to Windows XP.
  4. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Leave your windows xp drive in and install windows 7 to the other,the windows 7 install will update the bootloader and give you an option at startup.
  5. MeltingPoint New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I forgot to mention that the chipset is G31. XP is on SATA while win 7 is on IDE.
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Since Windows 7 is going to be on IDE, AHCI will not be enabled so what natr0n suggested will work just fine.

    AthlonX2's method will give you a boot selection screen every time you load windows 7 but will not work the other way around although I have never tried this with Windows XP on a separate drive.
    I have done this with a single drive partitioned with Windows XP in one partition and Windows 7 in another.
  7. MeltingPoint New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Messages:
    28 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay thanks everyone!
  8. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Just out of curiosity, why use two different drives? Why not just a dual boot from the first hdd?
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It doesn't really matter if he decides to use one drive or two. The Windows bootloader will treat it the same. Just don't change the boot order so Windows 7 can create an entry in its boot loader for XP. There is very little you have to do differently for it to automatically do this.
  10. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    For me it is a preference to have operating system on two separate drives just in case one HDD fails.

    Also I do not like seeing the boot selection screen before windows.
  11. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Makes sense... I've never thought about doing that. Never actually seen it either... I might just try it for myself just for something to do!
  12. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,041 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    because you have installed xp before 7 all you should have to do is install 7 to the second hard drive and it will automatically update the xp boot loader on the first drive.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page