1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 Pcs a choice between cards

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by zanatos, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. zanatos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi I have a high end desktop PC which i normally use to play shooting games like Farcry 3 and crysis 3 on a good monitor 2500x1600 graphic card is an Asus GTX 780 DCii which is quiet and seems it can handle everything i throw at it

    i also have a PC with a MSI gtx 760 which is now connected to a nice 65 inc TV 1900x1080p!!!!

    i got some games on Steam (gifts and sales) and i now want to play them on my big screen. I do NOT want to connect my High end desktop to the TV... The problem is that it seems the GTX 760 is not capable of playing most games in full HD.. for example Sleeding dogs seems to lag (around 33 Fps with high quality textures)

    so here are my choices :

    1:) get a R9 290(not the x model) around 350 to 400 Euros and get left with an MSI gtx 760 that i cannot use

    2:) get another MSI gtx 760 for around 240 Euros

    The first choice is a bit more expensive, while the second choice will probably mean i need also a new PSU (i have a 600 watt PSU )

    what do you think guys?
     
  2. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,436
    If it's a good PSU (which means not one you bought for $20 on ebay) you don't need a new one. The rest is up to funds. If you can get either of them, get the 290.
     
  3. zanatos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it is corsair 600 watt, acording to power calculators i need around 490 watts ...

    the questions is whether two gtx 760 will deliver better gameplay at better value or whether a R9 290 is a better investment..
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,781 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Another 760 would beat a single 290 non x

     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    626 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    I'm pretty sure you can sell that GTX760 if you choose to buy a 290. Other than that I am pretty amazed that you can't run Sleeping Dogs on full settings at 1080p with a GTX760 since my friend's HD7950 runs butter smooth 60fps with the high-res texture pack on this game at 1080p... (I haven't tried this game on my PC).

    You don't list your full specs so maybe there is something else bottlenecking the GTX760. Could be a slow CPU on that system?
     
  6. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    475 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Indonesia
    It could be a bottleneck but also, from my experience, Sleeping Dogs is running smoother on AMD cards than NVIDIA.

    I used to have a 7850 and GTX 660, played Sleeping Dogs with both cards and although I get a bit better FPS with a GTX 660, I still think that the gameplay is still smoother with a 7850. Even now my 7790 still feels smoother than my old GTX660 was.
     
  7. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,388 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    GMT +2
    760 is 2gb vram 7950 is 3gb. high res textures require about 2gb vram, depending on the title could be a bit more or a bit less. i guess sleeping dogs require a bit more.
     
  8. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    475 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Indonesia
    No mate, the hi-res texture requirement is 1 GB VRAM.

    http://store.steampowered.com/app/202181/

    My guess is OP is also using high SSAA and high SSAO which eats a lot of VRAM and GPU power.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2014
  9. zanatos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    CPU hasswell 4770 Not overclocked
    Motherboard z87 Mpower
    Ram 8 gb ddr 3 1666Mhz
    samsung 120 ssd


    the game runs smoothly not that i put HIGH antialiasing and not extreme
     
  10. zanatos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so you think is should avoid SSAA and SSAO?
     
  11. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    475 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Try lowering both SSAA and SSAO level.
    Try changing "Enable Quality Anti-Aliasing" to "High" (High FXAA, medium SSAA) and the "Screen Space Ambient Occlusion" to "Normal".
     
  12. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    268 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Israel
    Upgrade to R9-290

    more memory / faster card

    next upgrade you can get 1 more R9-290 and with 760 it's a problem.

    3 Way SLI add less performance then DUAL SLI

    Request 3 PCI-E Slots

    and Crossfire adds almost double performance in all supported games.
     
  13. zanatos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    in sleeping dogs or in Nvidia control panel?
     
  14. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    475 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Indonesia
    In Sleeping Dogs.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page