1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 Pumps in 1 one set up

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Knoxx29, Aug 9, 2014.

  1. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi there.
    It's almost 1 month since I have finished my watercooler set up, but I am not happy with it and I want to do some modifications to it, that's why I want to know Which are the advantages of having two pumps in one set up?, because I want to add one more radiator but I am afraid that one pump won't be enough to handle 3 radiators!

    Thanks in advance!
    Every advice will be appreciated
     
  2. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I had this issue with 3rads cooling two gpus and cpu, mem and mobo.
    I built a loop that was too restricted for one pump (the pump was not a good one) I did get it working but not well as the flow rate was very poor.
    With two decent pumps you would have no issues.
    My main rig is less restrictive now it has no gpu or memory wb in there but I still use two mostly because it is miles easier to refill due to a half way round repump and I get decent flow rates meaning I can run my fans slower too.
    Its a win idea since it offers a slight failsafe as well.

    My loop goes res-pump1-240rad-cpu-pump2-120rad-mobo-360rad-res, single loop all fans are independently controlled and managed by a mcube tballancer (good but corsair make a similar thing) no issues here and ive a silver nub as well as ptnuke and uv leds to limit any bio growth in my distilled water , hope that helps.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I tested 2xD5s in a bathtub (literally). Measured time to fill a 5 gal bucket with constant lift. Flow rate with two elbows and tubing was roughly 50% higher vs. 1 pump. Somewhere buried on a computer is a spread sheet of results and pictures. It was 4-5 years ago.
     
    Law-II, Knoxx29 and AsRock say thanks.
  4. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    when i come back from holiday i will be adding a new rad plus a pump, and thanks for your advices, it helps a lot
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    What exactly are you cooling that you think you need another radiator for? What sizes are your current radiators?

    Also what is your current pump?

    When running 2 pumps in one loop, the pumps should be in a series or intandom. One after another. That is why they make pump tops for the DDC pumps that link them together to pretty much form one pump.

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...oduct_info&cPath=59_439_775&products_id=33411
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  6. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    Right now I am cooling my CPU and GPU I was thinking to cool the motherboard and Ram and maybe add one more Graphic Card.

    my radiators are:
    Black ICE GTX Extreme 480 and Black ICE GTX Extreme 240

    The pump is:
    Alphacool VPP655
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not much of a point water cooling memory unless you are wanting to do it for aesthetic reasons (Also there are only a few memory sticks that are compatible with water cooling blocks). Motherboard probably isn't necessary as the VRMs probably dont run all that hot to make it worthwhile. Another graphics card sure.

    How exactly do you have your pump and reservoir setup, because you might just need a performance top for that pump to boost its head pressure instead of getting a whole new pump. If you want a whole new pump, I would make two completely separate loops then.

    I run 2 radiators and 2 water blocks in my loop and I am running a single MCP350 pump with a performance top/reservoir combo.

    Also how do you plan to add another radiator for that CM HAF 932 case? Arent you already hanging one off the back?
     
  8. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    My pump is right after the reservoir, and then goes this way:
    Reservoir, pump, rad 480, CPU, rad 240, GPU and back to the reservoir.
     
  9. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    yes i already have one hanging off the back, another radiator would be fixed it in the left panel, and just in case that wouldnt possible then i would upgrade the case to a CM cosmo II
     
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So its not connected to the reservoir as if the reservoir acts like a performance top?

    Slap a performance top on it, you shouldn't need another pump.

    You likely won't need another radiator either. Just save all the money you would be using by getting blocks for the memory and motherboard and get that second GPU and a top for the pump. Id also recommend running the loop where the lines go straight from the CPU to the GPUs instead of have the radiator inbetween them. So reservoir > pump > 480 > CPU > GPU1 > GPU2 > 240 rad > reservoir.

    Id upgrade to a Corsair 900D before a Cosmos II but thats just me.
     
  11. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    I have to check that one, maybe I like,

    thats right, its not connected to the reservoir, are separate..
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,884 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,473
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That's an interesting setup there, normally you want want the coolest water getting pulled into the pump and the hottest water go direct to the cooler for optimal thermal dissipation.

    For example, right now you have: I will highlight heat absorbing and generating components in red and heat releasing components in blue with temperature neutral remaining black.

    Reserve -> Pump -> Rad (480) -> CPU -> Rad (240) -> GPU ->

    In reality, the pump isn't going to add much heat to the loop so it's almost black but a tiny bit red. CPU-wise, it looks good because you have the cooler directly after the CPU (largest Δt). I would suspect you might be increasing you overall loop temperature because of this part:

    GPU -> Reserve -> Pump -> Rad (480)
    ...because it looks like (at least to me,) that you're mixing hot water from the GPU with luke-warm water in the reserve which is then getting pushed through the rad with a lower Δt than the CPU does, decreasing overall heat release in the system.

    This loop might make more sense:

    Reserve -> Pump -> CPU -> Rad (240) -> GPU -> Rad (480) -> Back to reserve
     
    Arjai and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Really it doesnt matter much but to get the cleanest shortest tube routes you want whatever you are cooling in a series. so CPU block straight to the GPU block. Have radiators in between blocks is a waste and doesn't effect anything in a positive way once the system hits equilibrium, which is pretty much a couple minutes after the system has been running.

    For example mine is

    Reservoir/pump > 360 > CPU > GPU > 240 > Reservoir/pump
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
    Arjai and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,884 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,473
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I don't know how you can say that, the heat in your loop generated by the CPU will obviously add heat to the water going to the GPU, the higher water temperature going into the GPU block will result in a lower Δt between the die and the water/block which means less heat is pulled away. You say it doesn't matter, but thermodynamically, it does it you're trying to keep temperatures similar throughout the loop otherwise, the GPU will always be running a bit warmer being the second heat emitting device in the loop.

    I'm not saying it won't work or it doesn't work well. I'm just saying that a properly created loop can ensure consistent temperatures throughout the loop. The loop is always in equilibrium because it's a closed system, the question is how efficient is the heat transfer between any two stages of the loop. Unless you're talking about the "average" water temperature stabilizing once the machine is one which doesn't impact heat transfer efficiency if the GPU is still being fed warmer water.

    Although I should also note, I'm not saying this is a bad thing, it gives cooling priority to the CPU, but I personally don't think it's optimally efficient.
     
    adulaamin and Knoxx29 say thanks.
  15. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    both ideas are good, but i like to avoid going from CPU > GPU >
     
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Why?
     
  17. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    agree with you about that, and that has been always my theory, from CPU to GPU i prefer to have in between one rad.
    i am not a watercooler expert but for me so makes much more sense
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yep, I had the same mentality when I started with water cooling till doing a lot more reading and @MT Alex pretty much convinced me the other way.

    Might as well just do completely separate loops if you want to have radiators in between each block.
     
  19. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    So here we go,
    My GPU temperatures are 25 degrees, if I go from CPU to GPU I will be adding 1 or to degrees to the GPU and that is because the heat that comes from the CPU hit the GPU.

    From the CPU comes hot water, and the GPU gets hot water.
     
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You should actually test that because you might be surprised.
     
  21. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    so how many degrees less do you think i could get trying your theory?
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,217 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,388
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not sure, ive never actually tested it myself. But with you and Aquinus theory, most if not all water cooled computers would be less than optimal......

    I haven't seen many rigs that have radiators in between the blocks, if at all.
     
  23. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    well i can't complain about my temperatures, i don't really know right now how many degrees are inside my house but as i can see right now inside the case are 28/27 degrees and my CPU temperatures are 32/33 degrees , my temperatures are just 5/6 degrees above the temperatures inside the case, i think are pretty good.

    you havent seen many rigs that have radiators in between the blocks, but believe me there are many, i cant be the only one.

    I forgot to mention:
    Intel Core i7-3770K OC 4.5GHz Ivybridge technology, hot processors
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  24. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,493 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    611
    Location:
    Texas
    In all the years I have water cooled my machines in my experience alot of the nit-picking ways of running a cooling setup come down to low levels of differences in your over all system load.

    In all honesty, for myself over the years I have adopted the idea of running a multi-radiator setup and putting one radiator minimum between the CPU and GPU's mostly for the sake of keeping a degree or two difference off the GPU's since I run a couple of GPU's in my rig. Does it make a night and day difference though, not really.

    For the sake of cooling, as long as you have an adequate cooling system in general with plenty of airflow through your radiators, normally running the loop pretty much any way you want to will still result in great temps. I personally like having a radiator between my CPU and GPU's since the water has to then run and cool multiple GPU's just to keep any extra stress off the system in general. I would say if its easy for you to do when putting it together like that then go for it but otherwise you can get away with not putting the radiators between every component.

    As for RAM LC cooling, unless your doing some extreme ram OCing or just want the bling effect its not worth it. Its similar to how there is now HDD and SSD LC cooling parts and to me does not offer any real benefits at the moment other than looks except in very rare situations. Motherboard cooling is a bit of an odd spot because it can be beneficial but only when your running extreme systems with extreme overclocks and your airflow is not optimal on the heatsinks.

    As for the Dual Pump question, having dual pumps is good for having a long list of components running through a loop. I see you have a AlphaCool VPP655 which is a good pump overall and for your list even if you add an extra radiator I would think its more than enough. I would say having dual pumps is more for having tons of GPU's, radiators, and other components in the loops where stretching out the system becomes an issue for it. Your system should be fine as is but adding another radiator would not kill off your pump or be to weak in my opinion based on what I've read about the pump.

    I am curious what your not satisfied temp wise because it sounds like its doing pretty well as is. Plus with that current setup you have I feel its already pretty overkill for your system, is there a particular part that is running hotter than you like (CPU or GPU?)?
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  25. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    843 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Location:
    Germany
    you convinced me.
    that is good info, been honest i would like to run the CPU at lower temperatures.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page