1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 sticks or 4 sticks of dual ddr2?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by PashaM, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. PashaM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My mobo is Asus P5K Premium and it has 4 ram slots, 2 yellow and 2 black, in them i have 2 Crucial sticks or 1 gig each in yellow slots, those are sort of primary slots for dual ddr. My question is, if i want to bump my ram up to 4gig, can i just add 2 more sticks of 1 gig each into those black slots, or will it screw up my "dual" thing? My guess is that idealy would be to replace those 2 1gig modules with 2 2gig modules, but now that i have those 2 already can i just add 2 more?

    See PIC:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    well... this is the "old story"

    all depend from the memory controler...

    for sure you can easy make an OC with 2 module, with 4 module the minimum latence will be grow more that with 2 module.

    also the power support for the memory will count.

    with 4 dims will have more heat, more power consumation.

    I say that will be better with 2x2GB that 4x1GB
     
  3. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    yes like adrianx said 4 modules (4gigs) will make tweaking the timings a little bit more complicated..
     
  4. PashaM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i dont plan on doing any tweaking, the idea behind "dual" ram is to have 2 sticks of identical ram, not 4. So im asking will the performance suffer a great deal or not? And why 2 slots are yellow and 2 are black?
     
  5. Laurijan

    Laurijan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Oulu, Finland
    The benefit is more than than it has downsides - go for it! Yellow is (dual) channel 1 and black is (dual) channel 2 (or otherwise)
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    17,254 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,004
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    4 x 1GB sticks is fine to run in dual channel mode but like people have said, for compatibility, stability and overclocking (if you overclock) 2 x 2GB generally is the best, many boards have issues with overclocking in 4 banks but generally if you are not overclocking then it should be OK.

    I have 4 x 1GB (you cant get Ballistix PC8500 in 4GB kits) in mine and had terrible problems with stability initially but I overclock the CPU and therefore overclock the memory but then Gigabyte released a new BIOS for my motherboard and that solved the issue.
     
  7. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    There is no such thing as "dual RAM", it's dual channel. In other words the idea is to have two identical channels. A channel could hold multiple DIMMs depending on memory type. (non-reg is limited to 2 DIMMs per channel, more for registered. FB can do 8 DIMMs per channel for instance)

    The slot colors are to identify channels.
     
  8. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago
    I agree with tatty. Many guys are having problems just running stock speeds when all four dimms are populated.
     
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    i run overclocked with 4 one gig sticks.. but even just running a pair of 2 gig sticks is likely to be not as tweakable as two 1 gig sticks..

    buy two more 1 gig sticks and try and get the same brand and type.. u shouldnt have any problems..

    new mobos have bios problems when first released.. memory incompatibility is the most common one.. the first new bios release usually imroves things..

    trog
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page