1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2 year long bug, Nvidia Display drivers crashed. - Tried everything, I'm now clueless

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by renegadexan, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. renegadexan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ram and cpu ya, it appear i can also change the frequency of the pci-e if i set ai overclock tuner to manual, but no voltage.
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
  2. WaroDaBeast

    WaroDaBeast

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Well, try to do the PCI-E clock set at 100 or 101 thing. In the meantime, did you download a Linux distro to check if you can reproduce the same issue under Linux?

    Edit : Hmm, I advised you to use Xubuntu earlier, but I think it'd be better if you could have the proprietary drivers from the get go, so it's better if you try Manjaro. If you need help regarding that, you can send me a private message.
  3. renegadexan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So far using EVGA precision X to up my voltage from 9067 to 1050 has worked and caused no crash, I haven't gamed too much but seems good, I'll keep you updated if this crash again.
  4. WaroDaBeast

    WaroDaBeast

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Err, that wasn't what I suggested, but it does sound like you've found a potential solution.

    P.S. : When you say "9067" and "1050", do you mean 0.9067 and 1.050 V?
  5. renegadexan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    10 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, I do.
  6. i@mJONNY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Quite technical here, manual voltage config via BIOS? *ScaredStiffFace

    So, I'm googling, as I'm having this issue with ntunecmd's error-generating DLL. It's the future now (2014) , but NVID and Microsoft still reign as supreme and suck as hard as ever.

    So outta the proverbial pan into the figurative fire...

    BUMPING this issue, reported today with NVIDIA support (ref #620954)

    (error event screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/JBEYEbA.png)

    DETAILS:

    Activation context generation failed for "C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\MFC80.DLL". Dependent Assembly Microsoft.VC80.MFCLOC,processorArchitecture="amd64",publicKeyToken="1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b",type="win32",version="8.0.50608.0" could not be found. Please use sxstrace.exe for detailed diagnosis.

    (*** CMD: SxsTrace Trace -logfile:SxsTrace.etl to trace, run ntune, ie

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\nTuneCmd.exe" "C:\Users\Jonny\AppData\Local\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\Profiles\SAFE (Underclocked G M Clocks to 522,700).nsu")
    view log (summary) (CMD) tracerpt C:\Users\Jonny\SxsTrace.etl


    Files Processed:
    C:\Users\Jonny\SxsTrace.etl
    Total Buffers Processed 1
    Total Events Processed 1
    Total Events Lost 0
    Start Time 08 April 2014
    End Time 08 April 2014
    Elapsed Time 44 sec
    +-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
    |Event Count Event Name Task Opcode Version Guid |
    +-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
    | 1 EventTrace 0 Header 2 {68fdd900-4a3e-11d1-84f4-0000f80464e3}|
    +-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+


    Reading
    (You may be able to access the reported issue @ NVIDIA support here, if you're logged in)
  7. i@mJONNY New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can anyone see any issues with the manifest?

    MAYBE it's this DLL doesn't have error-free-x64-compatabilty...

    Maybe it's a DLL conflict thing (multiple entries for the offending Library "msvcr80.dll")

    Opened ntunecmd.exe with Dependency Walker, first issue was missing module (ieshims.dll - some IE crap). fixed by copying the still resident ieshims.dll from program files x86\internet explore to nvidia corp's\ntune folder. next issue [​IMG]
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page