1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

200$ Upgrade

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by ShadowFold, May 11, 2009.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    What would you upgrade in my system for 200$? I'm having a hard time deciding. I kinda want to setup an SLI rig with a 780a and two GTS 250's...
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    One word: Watercooling. :)
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I'd need a new board if I went water cooling. I can't get my 720 higher on this board. Tried up to 1.65v and it doesn't clock any higher than 3.7
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Don't you already have a 4850x2? That's what's in your system specs. If anything, I think I'd sell your CPU and buy a 955.
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea that's been in the back of my mind.
  6. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    I'll second the 955 upgrade.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well there is only a couple actual upgrades worthwhile that you can do. New CPU or run a RAID 0 array. Couple SSD's maybe?
  8. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I third it or get a second monitor.
  9. reverze

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,368 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Cmon new 955 will be so much fun..

    Imagine playing around in all of the settings and overclocking :D
  10. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  11. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    The 955 is one option.

    Or a new SSD.
  12. N4cot1c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    133 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I would go 955 get a ssd.
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    +1 for SSD!!! yes!! I want two so bad (but don't want to reinstall everything).
  14. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    A couple of 32GB SSDs would run you about $200, so yeah. That'll make apps & games load pretty fast.
  15. DreamSeller Guest

    didnt know that :eek: :eek:
  16. Duxx Guest

    Didn't you just have a thread asking about what you should upgrade? Like 4 days ago?? Thought you decided to get a mic. Anyways I'd grab the 955. Have some fun with it.:toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page