1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

200$. What to buy?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ShadowFold, Jan 2, 2008.

  1. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If I get AMD Im gonna keep my current cpu im sure I can get 2.8ghz-3ghz with it right? Maybe I should get like a really nice AMD mobo and case and anice cooler would that be better?
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    it depends if it the brisbane ed 3ghz is easy if its the 90nm chip only about 2.8ghz

    yea a good mobo/cooler/case should work well for you



    the bard i linked to should oc well that and a gemini 2, thermal right ultra 120 or freezer pro
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have the 90nm one =/ anyways I can always get a Black Edition Phenom if they ever go below 200$ with that board
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    hmm hold on you could just get a 4000+ brisbane or 3600+ they are like $40-50
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Would the Brisbane 65nm really make that much of a difference?
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I'd stick with the Intel build. They are faster clock for clock, and not only that, they clock higher.
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    yea it will make a pretty huge diff unless you go for a 5200 or higher 90nm the they even out on clocks
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Alright I will probly get a 3800+ Brisbane since there the cheapest :p 3600+ have less cache right? That makes a difference I would think
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I still say get the intel. It's in your price range, and well out performs the AMD. The Intel you picked will clock over 3GHz as well.
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    oh thanks I will get OEM since I will get a cooler with it. Ok 100$ mobo 55$ cpu+ 5$ for AS5 20$ for case... know of any good AMD cooler for around 20$?
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I really want to stay with AMD i've always had luck ocing with them
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Well, if you can afford a Core2, there's no reason to buy an AMD. You're just screwing yourself. Now, if buying an Intel made it so you had to skimp on the video card, I'd say go AMD. But since you're reusing your card, and the Core2 is in your price range, going with the AMD is plain silly.
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  17. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    kinda agree with that but i dont think he can get a good combo for under $150 so that he can still get a case can he?
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    thanks again. I thought those were only for Intel stuff

    but yea if I get intel I cant get a nice cooler and it just complicates things
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    thats a nice little combo but those 2140s

    performance wise the 2140 beats out the AX2 oc'd but not by much

    http://hwbot.org/hardware.compare.do?type=cpu&id=1357_1&id=1386_1

    not surprising since it cost $20 more though?

    i would still try for the 4000+ and 790X mobo one because in the future he can get another 3850 for xfire and it leaves him room to get a phenom x3/4 when the TLB bug is fixed
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    What do you mean? The 2140 beats the X2 in everything, and by quite a margin in some tests.

    The P31 I linked leaves him room to get a Quad as well. (even 45nm Quads, as long as it's 1333fsb)
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I still dont have a clue in hell how to OC intels tho. I have only OC'd amds in the past
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Me too. Now I have an OCed Q6600. There's only one way to learn.
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  25. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Can you garentie that I can hit atleast 2.8ghz with that intel?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page