1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2011 Chimp Challenge has started!!!

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,395 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,696
    according to the info i have so far, my CPU is going to average 1250PPD, with GPU unknown for now.


    is that about right for my CPU?
     
  2. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    Okay first i7 970 is up. Lot easier to setup than last year. Thanks for the pass key guys!!!

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    F@H stats for android lol
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  4. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    I am trying to install on my 3rd rig in system specs and I get this error:
    [​IMG]

    This is a i7 920 w/ 2 GB of ram on XP 32bit...
    What do I need to do???
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    did you try and set the compatibility to win xp?
     
  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    Are you talking about this? If so, no option for XP:
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,071 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    Hmm, no -bigadv and I see that you have checked that box. A dry spell?

    As to your question for rig 3- I would to try to re-start the PC. Best I got, sorry.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    @ Hammer, Tracker uses .NET 3.5, make sure you have it updated.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  9. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640

    That was because I did not check the boxes before hitting "start". Should I stop and delete current WU???
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Can someone lend me their big city isp? My boxes were down for hours again. Arrrg. I hate shaw.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    If you do, hopefully it will pick up a -bigadv work unit.
     
  12. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    Thanks oily! That was it:toast:
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    austria
    sorry for noob question.

    is this ok??
     

    Attached Files:

  14. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Ahh just glad you got it working...Thank You for all the help Hammer

    EDIT:mad: basco, if you want to help in the Chimp Challenge then change your user name to ChimPowerUp (remember it's case sensitive) in the v7 client.
     
    basco and HammerON say thanks.
  15. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    austria
    thanks for quick answer
    now ok? want to fold for this challenge 2011 and tpu

    and can i use the fah gpu tracker instead?

    which is better 6core with ht ore gpu like 470 or 570gtx?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    Switched the lappy over
    [​IMG]
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Looks good now basco :toast:

    As for the FAH GPU Tracker you can use it if you prefer.

    You can fold on both your CPU and GPU at the same time if you like ;)
     
    basco says thanks.
  18. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    austria
    but i need a passkey for cpu?

    thanks in advance
     
  19. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    PM sent, you need the passkey when running the SMP client for your CPU
     
    basco says thanks.
  20. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    austria
    thanks.
    will try xeon 5650 and 2x gpu in the afternoon.
     
  21. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Nice Job Guys! Keep pushing it!! Our team grew a lot over this night... =]
     
  22. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Should give you a nice PPD with that setup.My i7 970 gives me ~60,000 PPD with a 4.2 GHz OC running the SMP -bigadv client.

    You can follow my guide for setting up the FAH GPU Tracker here -

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137137
     
    basco says thanks.
  23. basco

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    austria
    ok so cpu is better then gpu
     
  24. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah CPU is better if you are running the likes of an i7 with 4 or 6 cores and a good OC.
     
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,381 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Farm back up. Points should start showing within an hour or 2.....
    I'll switch my other box over for awhile tomorrow to make up for it
     
    mstenholm says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page