1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2142 question

Discussion in 'Games' started by SK-1, Aug 30, 2008.

  1. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,226 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Is it possible that by just switching out to a new and larger LCD monitor could cause 2142 not to run?
    I click on the shortcut, the screen goes black for a second or so, then back to desktop???
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,044 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    What was the difference in monitors? Resolutions?

    Are you trying the BF2142 and the BF2142 Online Now! shortcuts or just one?
     
  3. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,226 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Old one was 1650x1080....New 1920x1200.
    A while back I did take advantage of the widescreen 1.50 patch shortcut option.

    "C:\Program Files\Electronic Arts\Battlefield 2142\BF2142.exe" +menu 1 +fullscreen 1 +widescreen 1


    I have tried to start is several ways, shortcut, start menu, ect. Still no go.
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,999 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Location:
    Ohio
    reinstall?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,557 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    plug the old monitor back in and drop the games resolution to something BOTH screens can handle - say 1024x768 @ 60Hz.

    Then swap them over and it'll work fine.

    Its just a stupid bug that EA never fixed from BF2, and its carried over.
     
    SK-1 says thanks.
  6. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,226 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Dude,..you da man,...worked like a charm.:toast:
    Many thanks...
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,557 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    no probs. i ran into it when i moved from a 19" CRT to a 22" LCD
     
  8. Jeno Guest

    ive had games not run with some monitors and run fine with others, its all luck.
     
  9. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    had that problem too, but it was primarily due to my own stupidity.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page